Add/Drop Procedure

Add Procedure

Through Thursday of the first week of the semester, students may add courses provided that seats are still available. Adding courses which are full requiresthe approval of the instructor teaching the course. If approved, the instructor will enter permission to override the course capacity on My.NMU and the student may then add the course via My.NMU.  

Drop Procedure

Students may drop courses in accordance with the schedule below. Students desiring to drop a course should contact the Student Service Center, C.B. Hedgcock, Room 2201, 906-227-1221, for processing. No instructor signatures are required. All deadlines occur at 5 p.m. on the date shown in the table below.

Students desiring to drop ALL classes must contact the Dean of Students Office , C.B. Hedgcock, Room 2001, 906-227-1700. See Withdrawal Procedure Deadlines and Refunds.

 

Winter Semester 2018 Add/Drop Deadlines

 

Type of Course

Last Day to Add a Class

Last Day to Drop for a 100% Refund and No Grade

Last Day to Drop a Course with a “W” Grade

Full Semester

Thursday, Jan. 18

by 5 p.m.*

Tuesday, Jan. 23

by 5 p.m.

Friday, Mar. 30

by 5 p.m.

First Block

Wednesday, Jan 17

by 5 p.m.*

Friday, Jan. 19

by 5 p.m.

Friday, Feb. 16

by 5 p.m.

Second Block

Tuesday, Mar. 13

by 5 p.m.*

Friday, Mar. 16

by 5 p.m.

Friday, Apr. 13

by 5 p.m.


Note: To receive a refund for courses that meet for less than six weeks, the student must drop on or before the last business day prior to the first day of the course. Business hours during Fall and Winter are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

For weekend, extension, and courses scheduled to meet during non-conforming dates, please contact the Student Service Center, C.B. Hedgcock, Room 2201, 906-227-1221, for drop, refund and withdrawal deadlines.

No refunds are given for reduced credit hours within the 12-16 credit hour flat rate tuition range.

*Instructor signature required to add a course after these dates.

 

Fall Semester 2017 Add/Drop Deadlines

Type of Course Last Day to Add a Class Last Day to Drop for a 100% Refund and No Grade Last Day to Drop a Course with a "W" Grade
Full
Semester
 Thurs., Aug. 31, by 5 p.m.*  Tues., Sept. 5, by 5 p.m.  Fri., Nov. 3, by 5 p.m.
First
Block
 Tues., Aug. 29, by 5 p.m.*  Fri., Sept. 1, by 5 p.m.  Fri., Sept. 29, by 5 p.m.
Second
Block
 Tues., Oct. 17, by 5 p.m.*  Fri., Oct. 20, by 5 p.m.  Fri., Nov.17, by 5 p.m.


Note: To receive a refund for courses that meet for less than six weeks, the student must drop on or before the last business day prior to the first day of the course. Business hours during Fall and Winter are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

For weekend, extension, and courses scheduled to meet during non-conforming dates, please contact the Student Service Center, C.B. Hedgcock, Room 2201, 906-227-1221, for drop, refund and withdrawal deadlines.

No refunds are given for reduced credit hours within the 12-16 credit hour flat rate tuition range.

*Instructor signature required to add a course after these dates.

 

registration