President Kicks Off Celebration of Student Works
NMU President David Haynes gave the opening remarks at the 19th Annual Celebration of Student Research, Creative Works and Academic Service Learning.  The event involved about 120 students and featured about 60 posters and 30 presentations.  To review student presentation/poster topics click here
Senator Levin Speaks at NMU

President Haynes introduced his long-time friend, U.S. Sen. Carl Levin, for his presentation “Public Service: The Heart of Democracy” at NMU. Sen. Levin, elected to the U.S. Senate in 1978 and reelected five times, recently announced his plans to retire at the end of his term. View Sen. Levin's presentation.

President Haynes Chooses Return to Classroom

In an email sent to the NMU campus in mid-December, President David Haynes (pictured at Fall Convocation 2013) announced his desire to return to teaching at the conclusion of his two-year appointment as university president, which ends, stating that he did not plan to become a candidate in the NMU Board of Trustees' current presidential search. Haynes, a political science and public administration professor, was appointed to the presidential position in May 2012 when then-president Les Wong left for a new position. Read President Hayne's e-mail

President talks on workforce divide

President Haynes

NMU President David Haynes was recently featured in extensive media coverage related to the "workforce divide" in Michigan. Dome Magazine CBS Detroit CBS Detroit Michigan Matters