Employees Honored at Luncheon

Northern faculty and staff were honored at a luncheon April 24 for excellence in service, distinguished team service and years of employment.

Recipients of the 2007 Excellence in Service Awards, shown with NMU President Les Wong, are (left to right): Pat Lakenen (AV Services), for solving an incompatibility issue involving new CAPS audio and video equipment and university-issued laptops and helping to plan the new ITV facilities in Art and Design; Carol Bergman (Provost), for her administrative support and dedicated involvement in Mortar Board, North Wind business operations and other student activities; Dave Maki (AdIT), for his role in designing and deploying the university's computer network, making NMU one of the nation's "most wired" campuses; Daniel Hakala (Plant Operations), for his significant research into the purchase of a new university bus and for using his bus driver role as an opportunity to promote NMU and recruit prospective students; Lisa Alto (Housing and Residence Life) for implementing a new billing system with minimal impact on the department, coaching a new staff member and helping to supervise the summer housing program and special rental program during a period of staffing shortages; and Don Wernholm (Housing and Residence Life) for his positive attitude, meticulous attention to detail and "Let's get it done and get it done right" attitude, which contributed to the successful opening of the Woodland Park Apartments.

Recipients not pictured are: Stan Wright (WNMU-FM), for converting program data and learning new technology as the station transitions from analog to digital and for his work on the weekly Superiorland Concerts program featuring recorded faculty music performances; and Dr. Thomas Schacht (Health Center), for his service as chief of staff, overseeing the campus community's health care program and taking time to visit with parents and students during orientation.

The University Team Award, which recognizes exemplary and enthusiastic performance and innovation in achieving a university-related task, was presented to two groups.

The Learning Resources Center custodial staff was honored for their polite and hardworking approach to their jobs and for going above and beyond to complete their tasks despite a small staff. Members of the team, shown with Wong in the front row, are (left to right): Matthew O'Donnell, Sandra Dagenais and Ryan Healy. The Van Antwerp Hall renovation project team was charged with analyzing the Magers and Meyland Hall renovations and determining ways to streamline the Van Antwerp project. Its recommendations resulted in $80,000 in construction cost savings, along with a reduction of 2,300 hours in labor. Members are (back row left to right): Kim Rotundo (Housing and Residence Life), Carl Holm (Housing and Residence Life), Art Gischia (Purchasing), Brandon Sager (Engineering and Planning) and Tom Argetsinger (Engineering and Planning).

More than 130 faculty and staff also were honored for reaching milestones for 10, 20, 30 and 40 years of service.


Copyright by the Board of Trustees of Northern Michigan University, 1401 Presque Isle Ave, Marquette, MI 49855 1-800-682-9797
Northern Michigan University is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.
Admissions questions | Technical questions | NMU Web Team
Updated: May 4, 2007

NMU logo