Celebration of Student Scholarship

Student Celebration Seal


23rd Annual Celebration of Student Scholarship

9:00 a.m. Opening Ceremony

1322 Jamrich Hall


Dr. Lisa Eckert – Professor of English, Director of Graduate Education
Dr. Rob Winn – Interim Dean – College of Arts & Sciences | Director of Research

Technology Innovation Award for Students

Dr. Lanae Joubert - Assistant Professor - Health and Human Performance

            Daniel Zini
            Dante Audio Network

            Peter Maurer, David Germain, Ryan Frazier, Michael Whalen, Eric Clifford, Luke Webber, Jonathon Lefler, Jerry Conner, James VanOrman, Nicholas Potyok     
            JP Chickadee Project

23rd Annual Celebration – Research Poster Awards

Three Minute Thesis (3MT) Winner Presentations

Tianli Kilpatrick – English Writing

            “The Immortal Jellyfish, and Other Things That Don't Know About Love”

William Brown – Clinical Molecular Genetics

            “Development of a Rapid HIV Diagnostic Assay using Isothermal Amplification Coupled with Peptide Nucleic Acid and Gold Nanoparticle Colorimetric Detection”


12:30 p.m. – 1:30 pm. Poster Presentation Session

Jamrich lobbies – Lunch in Jamrich 1322


Jamrich 1313


10:15 a.m.

Syncretism or Superimposition: An Analysis of the Devil in the Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm

Tiffany Stachnik

10:30 a.m.

Autoethnography: Process/Product

Molly Liford

10:45 a.m.

Menstruation and Stigma: Body Imagery Among Young Women

Amber Urban

11:00 a.m.

Why We Shouldn't Use "to be"

Abigail Zeman

11:15 a.m.

Climate Change Induced Water Scarcity in Peru and Indigenous Solutions

Emma Trueblood

11:30 a.m.

The Impact of Dollarization on Developing Countries

Aaron Rochow

12:00 p.m.

Representations of Women in Middle English Literature

Emily Winnell

12:15 p.m.

Paper Tracks

Elizabeth Fust

12:30-1:30 p.m. BREAK - Poster Session
1:30 p.m.

No More Haste to Waste: Global Initiatives to Reduce Waste and Hunger

Briana Rose

1:45 p.m.

Germany and Turkey: A Strained Relationship

Devin Mueller

2:00 p.m.

The Old Man and the Polluted Sea

Whitney Frakes

2:15 p.m.

Philanthropy in Higher Education

Collin Rehm

2:30 p.m.

Applications of the Lognormal Distribution

Patrick Clancy

2:45 p.m.

A New West Sahara/Morocco Autonomy Plan Based on Past Histories

Rachel Wood

3:00 p.m.

Catalonian Independence and the Ripple Effect it has on Spain and The European Union

Brandon Ranney

3:15 p.m.

The Maasai: “A Mute Testimony to a Vanishing Africa” Bethany

Van Alstine

3:30 p.m.

Gender Inequality in Japan, Causes and Ramifications

Lauren Kolean

3:45 p.m.

Austria vs the United States: Basics in Government and Society

Meranda Wimbury

4:00 p.m.

The Representation of the Auteur in Chaplin's "The Great Dictator"

Eric Pitz


Jamrich 1322


10:00 a.m.

Assessment of the Extinction Risk of the Freshwater Crabs of Colombia

Ada Acevedo Alonso

10:15 a.m.

Nail Chronology at Old Mission

Abby Mier

10:30 a.m.

Effects of Winter Stream Habitat Conditions on Larval Brook Trout (Salvelinus Fontinalis) Physical Condition At Swim Up in Northern Michigan Streams

Eric Miltz-Miller

10:45 a.m.

The Impact of Greywater Irrigation on the Growth of Common Residential Garden Plants

Marielle Jacquez, Georgia Harrison, Bryce DeMers, & Emily Burghardt

11:00 a.m.

Environmental Justice in the Age of Twitter

Olivia Walcott

11:15 a.m.

The Deafening Bird

Olivia Walcott

11:30 a.m.

Student Athletes' Perception of Smartphone Use and its Effects on Sleep Quality, Depression, and Anxiety

Alexis Schaefer

11:45 a.m.

Potential Therapeutic Targets For Glioblastoma Treatment

Beau Adams, Colin Smith, & Rudolph Mosca

12:00 p.m.

The Effect of a Novel Rehabilitation Program on Gait Variability in Persons With Multiple Sclerosis

Olivia Perrin

12:15 p.m.

Genetic Diversity of Blue Wildebeest in Zambia

Stephanie Szarmach

12:30-1:30 p.m. BREAK - Poster Session
1:30 p.m.

Thornicroft's Giraffe Population Project

Samantha Phillips

1:45 p.m.

Do Fungal Communities in Trees Influence the Nest Site Selection of Primary Cavity-Excavating Songbirds?

Connor Gable

2:00 p.m.

FROST: Implementing a Cold-Climate Forensic and Anthropology Research Facility at NMU

Amanda Joslyn

2:15 p.m.

Alternative Energies Lab

Michael Donnermeyer & Bart Van Der Puy

2:30 p.m.

Water Protectors and Land Defenders: Civil Resistance to Extractive Industries in the United States, 1990-1999

Nathan Frischkorn

2:45 p.m.

The Characterization of Behavioral Abnormalities in BDNF LOXP Transgenic Mice

Ryan Brandt

3:00 p.m.

Do Chickadees that Spend Time Together Sound Similar?

James VanOrman

3:15 p.m.

Inside the Upper Michigan Brain Tumor Center

Jordan Howell

3:30 p.m.

Autonomous Color-Sensing Drone

Paul Sampson & Michaela McCleod

3:45 p.m.

Testing the Efficacy of the Altman Z-Score

Taylor Boonenberg

Previous Celebration information:

This event is sponsored by The McNair Scholars Program and The NMU Office of Graduate Education.
If you have any questions, please contact studentcelebrate@nmu.edu