News for NMU Employees

Reassigned Time Awarded

Eleven NMU faculty members were selected for Reassigned Time Awards for the winter 2013 semester. They will receive four credits of reassigned time to pursue scholarly research or creative projects. The recipients and their project titles are:

Maria Guadalupe Arenillas (Modern Languages and Literature), “Home is Where the Haunt Is: The Future of Inheritance in Contemporary Argentine Literature."

Matt Bell (English), “Book on Detroit’s Metal Scrap Industry.”

Zac Cogley (Philosophy), “Basic Desert and Reactive Emotions.”

Scott Demel (Sociology and Social Work), “Uncovering a Lost History: The Historical Archaeology of Beaver Island’s Cable’s Bay Fishing Village.”

Lisa S. Eckert (English), “Leaders in the Field of English Education and Rural Education Studies.”

Lisa Flood (Nursing), “Blood Transfusion Simulation: Assessment of Student Learning.”

Tara Foster (Modern Languages and Literature), “Translating the Roman de Saladin.”

Sarah Black Jones (Philosophy), “The Marginalization of LGBT Students and Faculty, and the Marginalization of Women.”

Michael W. Joy (Modern Languages and Literature), “Mysterious Lights and Unhinged Knights: Quixotic Quests in Journal of a UFO Investigator.”

Eileen M. Smit (Nursing), “Experiences of Honduran Nurse Preceptors and American Studies.”

Katherine C. Teeter (Biology), “An Investigation of Epigenetic in Mus Hybrids.”