Faculty by Department

Jonathan Allen
Associate Professor
Political Science
201s Cohodas Hall
Phone: 906-227-1815
Fax: 906-227-2229
Began teaching at NMU in 2008
  • B.A., Stellenbosch University
  • B.A., Rand Afrikaans University
  • M.A., Rand Afrikaans University
  • M.A., McGill University
  • Ph.D., Princeton University
William Ball
Political Science
220A Cohodas Hall
Phone: 906-227-1821
Began teaching at NMU in 1988
  • B.A., Southern Illinois University-Carbondale
  • M.A., Northeastern Illinois University
  • Ph.D., Northern Illinois University
Cherry Image
Brian Cherry
Assistant Provost of Graduate Education and Research
Political Science
401 Cohodas Hall
Phone: 906-227-2300
Began teaching at NMU in 1997
  • B.S., University of Southern Indiana
  • M.P.A., Indiana State University
  • Ph.D., Indiana State University
Nelson Image
Steven Nelson
Political Science
201 V Cohodas Hall
Phone: 906-227-2182
Began teaching at NMU in 1992
  • B.A., University of Iowa
  • J.D., University of Iowa
  • Ph.D., University of Iowa
Syed Image
Aurangzeb Syed
Political Science
201U Cohodas Hall
Phone: 906-227-1868
Began teaching at NMU in 1996
  • B.S., University of Punjab-Pakistan
  • M.A., State University of New York
  • M.A., University of Punjab-Pakistan
  • Ph.D., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Ruth Watry
Associate Professor
Political Science
201W Cohodas Hall
Phone: 906-227-1824
Began teaching at NMU in 2000
  • B.A., Mankato State University
  • M.A., Washington University-St. Louis
  • M.B.A., University of New Mexico
  • Ph.D., University of Delaware
Carter Wilson
Head and Professor
Political Science
208 Cohodas Hall
Phone: 906-227-2019
Fax: 906-227-1819
Began teaching at NMU in 2013
  • B.A., Wayne State University
  • M.A., Wayne State University
  • Ph.D., Wayne State University