Teresa Hunt (Academic Affairs) has been elevated to Fellow of the Association of Teachers of Technical Writing by the ATTW's fellows selection committee. She received the designation from the ATTW's fellows selection committee for showing a "sustained commitment in her teaching, research and service to technical communication at to ATTW." Hunt has been a member of the association since 1991.

Kia Jane Richmond (English), along with NMU graduate students Jennifer Riske and Kim Parlato, recently served as judges for the Rural Poetry Initiative, part of a national competition for secondary students in rural areas. Richmond have also been asked by contest coordinators and former NMU students Amy Laitinen and Heather Hollands to emcee the celebration of poetry scheduled for May 20 at the Landmark Inn. Contest winners will be reading their pieces at this celebration.

Women's Gynecologic Health, co-edited by Kerri Schuiling (Nursing) and Frances Likis, received the 2006 Best Book of the Year Award from the American College of Nurse Midwives. The book was published in July 2005.

Several NMU students and organizations were honored at the Leadership Recognition Banquet on April 20. Stephanie Oswald, a senior from Bark River, and junior Valerie Minor from Detroit received the “Spirit of Diversity” Award. The Graduating Leadership Scholarship Awards were given to seniors JaneAnne Belmore from Independence, Mo., Shalynn Brandt from Bryant, Wis., and Kayla Rice from Filion, Mich. Sophomore Mary Raymond from Gwinn received the Michael D. Nunnally Individual Student Volunteer Award. The student organizations honored, along with the awards they received, are as follows: Public Relations Student Society of America, program of the year for “Entertainment at the U.S. Short Track Speedskating Championships”; Phi Sigma Sigma, project of the year for “AIDS Mural”; Northern Arts and Entertainment, organization of the year among those that are funded by the university or student activity fee; House of Wonders in Spalding Hall, residence hall house of the year; Northern Michigan Constructors, community service award; Black Student Union along with Northern Arts and Entertainment, diversity program/project of the year for “Step Afrika!”; Tau Kappa Epsilon. The adviser of the year award went to John Lawrence of the Alpine Ski Team.


Copyright by the Board of Trustees of Northern Michigan University, 1401 Presque Isle Ave, Marquette, MI 49855 1-800-682-9797
Northern Michigan University is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.
Admissions questions | Technical questions | NMU Web Team
Updated: May 5, 2006

NMU logo