John Karry Award Winners

The John Karry Award is the highest honor the UMBTC can bestow. It is dedicated to the late John Karry. John participated in the first Hope Starts Here Challenge in 2006. John rode his heavy beat-up bike 40 miles that cold, rainy Saturday in May. On Monday, two days later, he had a third surgery to remove a recurrent malignant brain tumor. John inspired us by his demonstration of exceptional courage and positive attitude. He challenged us to do our job better, and the winners of our annual Karry award are chosen for their passion, hard work and support of the UMBTC.

Year Individual Team/Group
2017 Shane Kentala Walk in the Park - Escanaba, MI
2016 Robert Winn, Ph.D. Students for the Upper Michigan Brain Tumor Center (NMU Student Organization)
2015 Richard Rovin, M.D. No Awardees
2014 Laurie Neldberg-Weesen Madelyn Challier - Lemmer Elementary School
2013 Scott Bancroft NICO Corporation

Josh Bal

Michael Broadway, Ph.D.

Jon Vizena, Joe Vizena, and Jarid Gibson - Road Bike Across America

2011 John Lawrence, Ph.D.

Joy Oysti - Superior Hills Elementary School

Briana Bancroft - Birchview Elementary School

2010 Ashley Tapio Lady Fishermen Basketball - Ilwako, WA

Eino Olander

Matthew Ludwig, D.M.A.

MSHS Wind Symphony
2008 Elizabeth Schut Team Kus
2007 Elizabeth Schut Team Kus
2006 Elizabeth Schut Team Ortho

    Hope Starts Here Challenge Sponsoring    Register for the Hope Starts Here Challenge Button