Past Winners

Year Title Playwright
1977 The Spirit of Happy Hollow Peg Kehret
1978 The King’s Clown David Vando
1980 The Ripper Tim Kelly
1981 Fragments of an August Night Richard DeLong
1982 High Road, Low Bridge Joel Wyman
1983 Forgotten Verdict Richard Aellan
1984 Burial Customs Phoef Sutton


The King Has Gone to Tenebrae George Herman
1986 Father Mosley William Hathaway
1987 The Queen’s Knight Frank Cossa
1988 Franz and Dora Harold Lieberman
1989 The Devil and All His Works Ernest Joselovitz
1990 Bravado Joan Garner
1991 Beast Susan Arnout Smith
1992 The Black Pope Warren Sherlock
1993   The Night the War Came Home Hindi Brooks
1994 no winner  
1995 Doin’ Time At the Alamo Mary Hanes
1996 Edgar David Grimm
1997 no winner  
1998 The One-Eyed Man Is King Carter Lewis
1999 no winner  
2000 The Seventh Monarch Jim Henry
2001 Ghosts George Sapio
2002 Everything’s Relative Richard Davis, Jr.
2003 A Rembrandt’s Eyes Cynthia Holm
2004      Burning Mona Lisa in the Reptile House Mark Rigney
2005 no winner  
2006 Tell-Tale Rebecca Gorman
2007 no winner


2008 Tracks in the Snow Neil McGowan
2009 no winner  
2010 no winner  
2012 Bears Mark Rigney
2014 A Paper Tiger in the Rain David J. Swanson
2016 Building Madness Kate Danley