Awards and Recognition

Volunteer of the Month

The Volunteer of the Month program is designed to recognize an exceptional NMU student for his/her volunteer work in local communities. Winners of this award have gone above and beyond the normal volunteer accomplishments of others. If chosen as Volunteer of the Month, these outstanding volunteers receive:

  • Certificate of recognition from the Volunteer Center
  • Recognition on our website, Facebook and Instagram
  • Spotlight in our display case 
  • $20 gift card to Domino's Pizza

Riley GarlandMarch 2020:  Riley Garland
February 2020:  Rachael Loman
January 2020:  Lauren Elmblad
November 2019:  Ender Harris
October 2019:  Ravyn Rooney
September 2019:  Amber Manitowabi-Huebner

March 2019:  Jessica Podlesak & Maddie Hagg
February 2019:  Chloe Rinkel
January 2019:  Mark Holmgren
November 2018:  Kim Santiago

March 2018:  Jess McIntosh
February 2018:  Tristan Ruiz
January 2018:  Megan O'Connor
October 2017:  Margo Keuler
September 2017:  Sarah Schollmeyer

March 2017:  Kayla Argeropoulos
February 2017:  Joe Roberts
January 2017:  Sarah Dartt
November 2016:  Yunyi Cho
October 2016:  Angela Brown
September 2016:  Michael Donnermeyer

March 2016:  Joshua Maier
February 2016:  Kara Lampinen
January 2016:  Michaela Kremhelmer
November 2015:  Katy Meade
October 2015:  Heather Roadcap

March 2015:  Haley Knight
February 2015:  Kent Frantz
January 2015:  Brian Budd

Nominate Someone

Do you know a super volunteer?  If so, please nominate them to the NMU Volunteer Center by e-mailing or calling 906-227-2466.  Include a short paragraph listing the nominee's services, full name, e-mail address, and phone number.


Elizabeth MansfieldMichael D. Nunnally Individual Student Volunteer of the Year Award

This annual award is designed to recognize an outstanding NMU student volunteer who has made an impact on the community through service. The winner is acknowledged by the university at the annual Leadership Recognition Banquet.  To the world, Mike Nunnally was a member of the U.S. Olympic Education Center Boxing Team at NMU and one of the nation’s top-ranked amateur boxers. To his friends and community, he was a tireless volunteer who gave much of his time working with youth. So deep was his love for children that his life’s goal was not an Olympic medal – for which he was a contender – but to be an elementary teacher and role model for inner city kids in his hometown of Jackson, Tennessee. Tragically, Mike lost his life in 1996 while swimming in Lake Superior. The Michael D. Nunnally NMU Student Volunteer Award was created by his friends to honor his life and commitment to community service. To nominate someone, please contact the Volunteer Center at or at (906) 227-2446.

2019-20 Winner:  Elizabeth Mansfield
2018-19 Winner:  Maija Mattson
2017-18 Winner:  Michaela McLeod
2016-17 Winner:  Matthew Trefilek
2015-16 Winner:  Benjamin H. Harris
2014-15 Winner:  Katy Meade
2013-14 Winner:  Sarah Hujar
2012-13 Winner:  Brendan Franklin
2011-12 Winner:  Rachael Williams
2010-11 Winner:  Courtney Brown
2009-10 Winner:  Kurt Brandly
2008-09 Winner:  Meghan Connell
2007-08 Winner:  Danielle Foulks
2006-07 Winner:  Jeron Schmidt
2005-06 Winner:  Mary Raymond
2004-05 Winner:  Nathan Lehman
2003-04 Winner:  Christopher Leemon
2002-03 Winner:  Eric Chase
2001-02 Winner:  Chris Mosier
2000-01 Winner:
1999-2000 Winner:
1998-99 Winner:
1997-98 Winner:
1996-97 Winner:  Bonnie Hafeman
1995-96 Winner:  Loren Snyder (Board of Control Student Achievement Student Volunteer of the Year)
1994-95 Winner:  Polly Luoma (Board of Control Student Achievement Student Volunteer of the Year)


Northern Michigan ConstructorsCommunity Service NMU Student Organization Award

The purpose of this award is to recognize a student organization that has demonstrated the highest degree of volunteer service contributions to Marquette and the surrounding Upper Peninsula communities during the academic year.  Factors such as quantity and quality of service are considered when placing the award in the hands of the most outstanding service organization. This year's winner was the Northern Michigan Constructors.

2019-20 Northern Michigan Constructors
2018-19 Food Recovery Network
2017-18 Beta Alpha Psi
2016-17 Winner:  Northern Michigan Constructors
2015-16 Winner:  Marquette Ending Hunger
2014-15 Winner:  EEGS Garden Club
2013-14 Winner:  Pre-Veterinary Club
2012-13 Winner:  Northern Michigan Constructors
2011-12 Winner:  MU Beta Psi
2010-11 Winner:  Public Relations Student Society of America
2009-10 Winner:  Northern Michigan Constructors
2008-09 Winner:  Power Sports Club
2007-08 Winner:  Relay for Life
2006-07 Winner:  Student Social Work Organization
2005-06 Winner:  Northern Michigan Constructors
2004-05 Winner:  Lambda Chi Alpha
2003-04 Winner:  Tau Kappa Epsilon
2002-03 Winner:  Lambda Chi Alpha
2001-02 Winner:  Circle K
2000-01 Winner:  Copper Country Pride
1999-2000 Winner:  Alpha Phi Omega
1998-99 Winner:  Copper Country Pride
1997-98 Winner:  Lions Club
1996-97 Winner:  Above & Beyond House
1995-96 Winner:  Student Habitat for Humanity
1994-95 Winner:  Student Social Work/Sociology Organization
1993-94 Winner:  Phi Sigma Sigma