Student Organizations

Click here for a complete list of organizations at NMU.

__________________________________________________________________________

Black Student Union

The mission of the Black Student Union is to support NMU students with a main focus toward African-American students by fostering a sense of community and support socially, academically and culturally. To promote diversity and cultural awareness through educational and entertaining programming; thereby opening an avenue for understanding, learning and appreciation for the black culture and heritage. BSU has won numerous awards through the years, including organization of the year and diversity project of the year.

 

Contact

Taylor Ayers

tayers@nmu.edu
Advisor

Rachel Harris

raharris@nmu.edu

Meetings Wednesdays @ 6pm, Jamrich

 

Spectrum

Spectrum is an organization with the purpose of creating a safe place where everyone feels welcome, no matter how they identify.  A place where marginalized genders and sexualities are highlighted, such as the asexuality and nonbinary spectrums.  They are an inclusive LGBTQIA+ group that is dedicated to creating and supporting safe spaces for the LGBTQIA+ student community across campus through activism and education.  

President Bri Hyatt Sahyatt@nmu.edu 
Advisor Shirley Brozzo sbrozzo@nmu.edu 
   
Meetings Mondays, 7-9 pm, Jamrich 2317
   
   
   

 

Q & A

Q&A - Queers & Allies allows the queer and allied community of NMU to gather in a safe and welcoming environment. The group will offer social activities and a place for queers and allies to be able to openly express themselves in a relaxed and non-judgmental environment.

 

Co-President

Nat Ehrig nehrig@nmu.edu

Henry Sale hsale@nmu.edu

Advisor Gary Stark 
gstark@nmu.edu
Meetings

Wednesdays, 8-10 pm Jamrich 2315

 

Latino Student Union

The purpose of the Latino Student Union is to affirm the Latin culture and heritage within NMU while serving as a social group for all Latino students.  Our purpose is to encourage students to look at the issues beyond cultural differences and focus on the great and unique qualities that make Latino and non-Latino students at NMU as we work together for academic and social unity.

 

President Marina Mankee
mmankee@nmu.edu 
Advisor

Maria Arenillas 

marenill@nmu.edu

Meetings Wednesday, 6:30pm Jamrich 2319


Native American Student Association

The Native American Student Association promotes events related to Native American heritage and culture while serving as a supportive and interactive group for Native American students. All NMU students are welcome to join. NASA has hosted drum socials, the Native American Performers` Festival, the Ojibwe food taster, the annual "Learning to Walk Together" traditional Pow-Wow and co-sponsors Native American Heritage Month. NASA has also participated in community programs, such as Title VII Indian Education with the local public schools, Earth Day activities and has supported the Leonard Peltier Defense Committee. The Anishinaabe News is also a part of NASA. It is a Native American newspaper that provides readers with information about current events or issues that are related to Native American culture.

 

President

Bazile Panek

bpanek@nmu.edu  

Advisors

Jud Sojourn 

wsojourn@nmu.edu
Meetings 6:00 - 7:00pm, Mondays, Whitman Commons

 

All Nations Club

The ALL NATIONS CLUB consists of international students attending NMU. There are about 110 students from 34 different countries. The club wants to create cultural understanding among the Marquette community by organizing the International Food Fest, giving presentations about different countries, and uniting students together to make them feel more comfortable in a different cultural environment. They are recipients of the 2004-2005 Program of the Year Award for the International Food Fest. Anyone is welcome to enjoy the club.

 

President Min Park 
mpark@nmu.edu
Advisor

Lila Isleib 

liisleib@nmu.edu
Meetings Fridays, 5:00pm in 224 Harden

 

Women for Women

Women for Women seeks to promote education, service, and leadership throughout the NMU campus and the community at large. The five all-female houses, in tandem with the rest of the student body, work together to introduce others to issues that include, but are not limited to, health, sexuality, and civil rights. Originally founded as a grassroots organization dedicated to the promotion of a female sisterhood, Women for Women has expanded its efforts to include projects that raise awareness of societal concerns throughout the world

Co-Presidents Hannah Mahn hmahn@nmu.edu
Jenna Chappel jechappe@nmu.edu
Co-Advisors

Christy Main chrimill@nmu.edu
Chad Allard callard@nmu.edu

Meetings 8:00pm every Wednesday in Hunt/Van Antwerp Lobby

 

 

about_us