NMU Board Presents Student Achievement Awards

NMU trustees and president with student award winners
NMU trustees and president with student award winners

The Northern Michigan University Board of Trustees presented its annual student achievement awards in advance of spring commencement. The awards recognize students for their significant contributions to the quality of life at NMU through involvement in extracurricular activities or through work in a university department. Recipients were Trevor Case of Chatham, outstanding nontraditional student award; Lindsey Lieck of Rhinelander, Wis., outstanding female graduating senior; Melissa Orzechowski of Grandville, outstanding student (any class standing); and Amer Mansoor of Bloomfield Hills, outstanding male graduating senior. Case graduated in December; the remaining three participated in spring commencement. Pictured are (from left): Case; trustees Tami Seavoy and Rick Popp; Lieck; trustee L. Garnet Lewis; NMU President Fritz Erickson; trustees Scott Holman and Robert Mahaney; board chair Sook Wilkinson; trustee Steve Mitchell; Orzechowski; board vice chair Thomas Zurbuchen; and Mansoor. 

Prepared By
News Director
May 4, 2016