NMU Inducts Mortar Board Members

            Marquette, Mich. — Twenty-eight Northern Michigan University students were selected for membership in the Telion Chapter of the Mortar Board National College Senior Honor Society.

Mortar Board recognizes outstanding college seniors who are successful in achieving leadership, service and academics throughout their college campus. Volunteering for services such as Relay for Life and Big Brother Big Sister are just a couple ways NMU students have showed their support to the community, and many students have taken on leadership roles in multiple student-led organizations around campus.

For more information, contact Kerry Mohr, Executive Secretary of Academic Affairs, at 906-227-1458 or visit http://nmumortarboard.wordpress.com.

The NMU students selected for 2014-15 Mortar Board memberships, along with their academic major, are:

From Michigan

Bessemer: Haley Jacobson, accounting; Brighton: Lauren Larsen, speech, language and hearing science; Champion: Randi Boule, nursing; Grand Rapids: Elizabeth Sabin, elementary education and mathematics, and Brenna Sellman, sports science; Gregory: Katherine Lange, speech, language and hearing science; Ishpeming: Kevin Flohe, economics; Livonia: Alyssa Shaw, speech, language and hearing science; Kingsford: Toni Wilson, social work; Marquette: Melissa Zeglen, political science and philoshophy; Midland: Alex Kerlin, management of health and fitness; Milford: Kara Jacoboni, communication studies; Negaunee: Jordan Paquet, public relations; New Baltimore: Jessica Cesarek, criminal justice; Newport: Shelbi Lisecki, biology; Iron Mountain: Austin Lucas, social work; Rochester Hills: Sarah Matles, elementary education and social studies; St. Johns: Alexandra Fletcher, international studies and political science;



Bolingbrook: Lauren Somogyi, environmental studies and sustainability; Downers Grove: Elizabeth Owens, special education; Grayslake: Kayleigh Ash, speech, language and hearing sciences; Johnsburg: Troy Morris, psychology and behavioral analysis; Winthrop Harbor: Mary Dillow, secondary education, social studies and physical education.



Hanna: Erin Shei, social work.



Davenport: Aubrey Kall, business and entrepreneurship.


North Dakota

Fargo: Abby Roche, public relations. 



Beloit: Kaitlyn Hansen, entrepreneurship; Washburn: Cole Swiston, biology with a physiology emphasis.

Prepared By
Robert Thomas
Student Writer