MARQUETTE, Mich.—Northern Michigan University students were recently recognized for completing the Student Leader Fellowship Program (SLFP).

            The SLFP is a two-year experience that focuses on both leadership skill development and a commitment to community service. The program includes a two-credit leadership theory and practice course, a year-long mentoring relationship with a local community leader, an annual overnight fall retreat, frequent Skill Builder! Workshops and a year-long community service internship.

            The following students completed the program (listed by city, starting with Michigan, and including academic major):


            Addison: Andrew Kandell, history/criminal justice; Battle Creek: Sarah Eberhard, electronic journalism; Erin Urley, undeclared; Caledonia: Thomas Wynsma, pre-law; Escanaba: Danielle Miron, speech pathology; Greenville: Anna Prahl, diagnostic greetings; Highland: Moira Mosher, English; Lindenhurst: Molly Grala, graphic communication and marketing; Maple City: Jessica Huron, special education and elementary education; Marquette: Melanie Bell, biology; Andrew Mallo, history; Lacey Wallace, pre-pharmacy/chemistry (ACS); Mattawan: Sarah Dudley, nursing; Merrill: Christel Ries, environmental science; Midland: Paul Ewbank, sports science; Whitney Warren, nursing; Napolean: Jessica Price, international studies/political science; Negaunee: Kurt Brandly, biochemistry/finance; Richmond: Laura Garlick, forensic biochemistry; Rock: Alysa Diebolt, marketing; Sault Ste Marie: Victoria Leonhardt, biology-physiology; Traverse City: Emma Burdos, athletic training;


            Cary: Amanda Emerson, earth science/international studies; Chicago: Amber Snyder, political science; Christopher Grigas, criminal justice; Crystal Lake: Kirsten Hoklas, elementary education; Grayslake: Amber Baillargeon, English writing; Marengo: Alisyn Stauber, nursing; McHenry: Meghan Connell, psychology/grad prep; Rolling Meadows: Jessica Elbe, political science/pre-law; Sandwich: Jennifer Grasch, biology; St. Charles: Sarah van Oss, environmental conservation;



            Mantorville: Anna Ewing, elementary education; White Bear Lake: Denise Elizondo, undeclared;


            Amberg: Lakin Lanich, business entrepreneurship; Cedarburg: Lindsay Brackes, management of health and fitness; Eau Claire: Rebecca Rasmussen, undeclared; Green Bay: Stephanie Felton, athletic training; Greenleaf: Michelle Brittnacher, nursing; Greenville: Lisa McCarthy, biochemistry; Spencer: Lauren Veale, elementary education; Stevens Point: Jane Kreul, speech, language and hearing sciences.

Prepared By
May 12, 2010