The nationally recognized Student Leadership Fellowship Program (SLFP) at Northern Michigan University has selected a new group of student fellows to participate in the program, beginning with the fall 2008 semester.

            The SLFP was established in 1991 and is a two-year experience that focuses on both leadership skill development and a commitment to community service. The program includes a two-credit leadership theory and practice course, a year-long mentoring relationship with a local community leader, an annual overnight fall retreat, frequent “Skill Builder” workshops and a year-long community service internship.

            The following students have been selected for the program (hometowns listed alphabetically):


Addison:  Andrew Kandell; Battle Creek: Sarah Eberhard and Erin Ulrey; Caledonia: Tom Wynsma; Calumet: Amy Helminen; Chesterfield: Jeanine Blom; Escanaba: Ben Ayotte and Danielle Miron; Gaylord: Melissa Benner and Sarah Harriger; Grand Rapids: Christiane Stubbs; Greenville: Anna Prahl; Highland: Cassandra Buss; Jenison: Chelsea Martin; Kingsford: Joseph Clement; Maple City: Jessica Huron; Marquette: Melanie Bell, Mercedes Rosado and Lacey Wallace; Mattawan: Sarah Dudley; Merrill: Christel Ries; Midland: Whitney Warren and Paul Ewbank; Napoleon: Jessica Price; Negaunee: Kurt Brandly and Riley Torreano; Pinconning: Jason Morgan; Richmond: Laura Garlick; Rock: Alysa Diebolt; Sault Ste. Marie: Victoria Leonhardt; Traverse City: Emma Budros.


Cary: Anthony Plemmons and Amanda Emerson; Chicago: Christopher Grigas and Amber Snyder; Crystal Lake: Kirsten Hoklas; Grayslake: Amber Baillargeon; Lindenhurst: Molly Grala; Marengo: Alisyn Stauber; McHenry: Meghan Connell; Rolling Meadows: Jessica Elbe; Sandwich: Jennifer Grasch; South Holland: James Jones; St. Charles: Sarah Van Oss.


Mantorville: Anna Ewing; White Bear Lake: Denise Elizondo.


Amberg: Lakin Lanich; Appleton: Nichole Goetzke; Cedarburg: Lindsay Backes; Eau Claire: Rebecca Rasmussen; Green Bay: Stephanie Felton; Greenleaf: Michelle Brittnacher; Greenville: Lisa McCarthy; Madison: Mark Hopperstad; Spencer: Lauren Veale; Stevens Point: Jane Kreul.

Prepared By
May 23, 2008