2010 Math Challenge

On Saturday, March 13, 2010, the Mathematics and Computer Science Department at NMU sponsored the First Annual U.P. High School Math Challenge.  High school students from Calumet, Ishpeming, Lake Linden-Hubbell, Munising, and Newberry participated.  There were 36 students on 9 teams.  Awards were given for the top three students (for the individual problem portion of the contest) and the top three teams (for the team problem portion of the contest).

2010 UP High School Math Challenge

2010 Math Challenge Winning High School
2010 UP Math Challenge Traveling Trophy goes to Newberry High School

2010 Math Challenge Individual Winners

Top three individual students:  Kori Baij 3rd place (Munising); Brian Ronquist 2nd place (Newberry); Mamiko Ozawa 1st place (Newberry)     2010 Math Challenge 1st place team

First Place Team from Newberry:  Brian Ronquist, Mamiko Ozawa, Ashley Haupt, Shannon Lane     2010 Math Challenge 2nd place team

Second Place Team from Munising A:  Do Ahn, Melina Nordquist, Tik San Ling, Emily Graves     2010 Math Challenge 3rd place team

Third Place Team from Munising C:  Jordan Beauchaine, Zach Boucher, Jarett Sadler, Kori Baij