Residence Halls

Northern Michigan University has nine distinct residence hall communities. Each hall is comprised of smaller communities, called houses, of about 45 students each. These houses share the hall identity, but have their own personalities, expectations, traditions, governments, and activities. Some house names include: Hogwarts, Moose Lodge, and Aurora.


Click the below flags to learn more about each individual hall!

Birch  Cedar  Maple  

Magers  Meyland  Hunt  

Van Antwerp  Spalding  Spooner  

Residence Hall Amenities:

  • 24/7 maintenance
  • Community kitchens
  • Laundry rooms
  • TV rooms
  • Study rooms
  • Lobby/recreation areas
  • Friendly front desk services
  • Proximity to fitness facilities
  • Easy access to The Lights Dining
  • Outdoor bike racks and winter bike storage
  • Academic tutoring at the Student Success Center (located in The Woods)
  • Cable TV
  • Local phone service
  • Wireless internet
  • Mailboxes
  • Vending machines

Click here to see room type descriptions and images!