3MT Competition

3MT February 26th. Register by February 10th.

2020 3MT is February 26th!

Register to compete by emailing your name, program/department, and tentative presentation title to Janelle Taylor at jantaylo@nmu.edu by February 10th.  

For more information, see the 3MT slides or contact Janelle Taylor at jantaylo@nmu.edu.


About 3MT

NMU began its annual participation in the Three Minute Thesis competition in 2018 and continues to expand its programming. Each year, NMU students will compete for recognition, prizes, and a spot in the regional competition. Three Minute Thesis was developed by The University of Queensland (UQ) in 2008. "3MT cultivates students’ academic, presentation, and research communication skills.The competition supports their capacity to effectively explain their research in three minutes, in a language appropriate to a non-specialist audience."


Each candidate is limited to three minutes and one static PowerPoint slide to aid in the presentation of their thesis research. Students must be actively enrolled in a graduate program and must present original research. Detailed competition rules are located here. You can view examples on the 3MT website here


3MT 2019

The NMU 2019 competition included two rounds of competitors: Current NMU graduate students and undergraduate students from NMU's McNair Scholars program.

To review the Mediasite streaming footage from the event, follow this link. The event was also covered by local television news. 

Graduate Winners

1st Place: Kathryn Bianga, School of Business

Runner UP: Veronica Snow, Biology Department

People's Choice: Jaime VanEnkevort, School of Education, Leadership, and Public Service

McNair Winners

1st Place: Cecilia Ruiz, Neuroscience

Runner UP: Brittney Moore, Upper Michigan Brain Tumor Center

People's Choice: Cecilia Ruiz, Neuroscience


The first place graduate winner, Kathryn Bianga, receives $500 and travel to the Midwest Association of Graduate Schools conference to compete at the next level! 

We would like to extend a special thank-you to our judges, Lizzie Corser, Jim LaJoie, Chad Mager, Evelyn Massaro, and Jason Nicholas.


2018 3MT

This March NMU proudly hosted its first Three Minute Thesis competition from 3-5pm in the Mead Auditorium! You can access the entire event recording here. The event was also covered in The Mining Journal.

This year's event was judged by Dr. Alec Lindsay (Biology), Jason Nicholas (Institutional Research), and Dr. Taylor Norman (English). 

1st Place Winner and People's Choice: Tianli Kilpatrick, English MA, with "The Immortal Jellyfish, and Other Things That Don't Know About Love"

Runner-Up: William Brown, Clinical Molecular Genetics, with "Development of a Rapid HIV Diagnostic Assay using Isothermal Amplification Coupled with Peptide Nucleic Acid and Gold Nanoparticle Colorimetric Detection"

The winners will receive prizes for their accomplishments, and the first place winner will have her travel funded to the regional competition in Grand Rapids, MI this April.