First Nighters Club

The First Nighters Club is a recognized NMU foundation creating opportunities for student artists and supporting the theatre community of Marquette and the surrounding areas.

Our Mission: To support the student artists and the theatre program by ensuring that the students can get the most professional training possible, on and off the stage, and enabling the theatre to produce high-quality productions that challenge, teach, and of course, entertain.

First Nighters Club Levels of Membership
All levels will receive program acknowledgement throughout the season, as well as in club newsletters.

  • Booster - $1 - $99

  • Friend - $100 - $249

  • Sponsor - $250 - $449

  • Angel - $500 - $999

  • Producers Circle  - $1,000 - $4,900


Benefits to Theatre and Dance Students
The First Nighters Club supports theatre students in many ways, including:

  • Talent scholarships
  • Tuition and fees for graduate artistic interns
  • Audition fees for state, regional, and national auditions
  • Annual outstanding achievement awards
  • Academic achievement awards
  • New York, Las Vegas, Stratford, and abroad Field Studies scholarships

Benefits to the Theater
The First Nighters Club has financed several theater improvements:

  • Wireless microphones
  • Lighting instruments
  • Wireless intercom/headset system
  • Lighting and sound equipment for the Black Box Theatre

Special Events
The First Nighters Club is present at several special events throughout the year, including:

  • Season Premiere Party
  • Halfway Party
  • Drama Prom and the Jimmy Awards 


First Nighters Club Advisory Board 2018-19

PRESIDENT: David Dagenais

VICE PRESIDENT: Sandy Meyskens

SECRETARY: Adrienne Vermeulen

TREASURER: Bill Digneit

Faye Elder

Kurt Hauswirth

Elise McCommons

Lori Ogawa-Mentink

Jeanne Trost

Jerry Tudor


Producers Circle:

Wells Fargo Bank, N.A.

Digneit Brothers Productions Inc.

Dr. James A. Panowski

Mr. and Mrs. Kevin Boyle

Ms. Cindy L. Paavola




DIGS Gastropub

Dr. James L. Rapport and Mrs. Karalyn Rapport

Mr. Mark B. Pynnonen

Ms. Lynette A. Pynonnen

Kerri Schuiling

Swick Media Services



Imperial Beverage

Kerry Jahn-Drone

Lambda Chi Alpha Fraternity

Mr. David Prychitko

YMCA of Marquette County



Rebecca Berube

Michelle Butler

Rocco Carello

Checker Transport LLC

Kendall Cox

Mr. David Dagenais

Dr. Matthew W. Drewek

Danny Fitchett

Fox Hills Golf & Banquet Center

Frei Chevrolet Inc.

GJG Enterprises Inc.

Mrs. Colleen A. Greer

Mr. and Mrs. Joe and Barb Holman and Ms. Jessica Holman

Tiffany Huff

Dr. Robert and Mrs. Meredith Kulisheck

Mr. Sam Elder and Mrs. Faye Elder

Shawn Pugmire

Sager Inc.

Sweetgrass Golf Club

TimberStone at Pine Mountain

Mrs. Jeanne Trost

Wawonowin Golf Course

Mr. and Mrs. Chuck Weinrick

Scott Zerbel



Bald Eagle Harley Davidson

Big Boy Restaurant

Blackrocks Brewery

Dustin Dishaw

Getz's Department Store

Craig Grabarczyk

Hampton Inn

Mr. Kurt T. Hauswirth

Joseph Hopkins

Ben Johnson

Jessica Jones

John Kendall

Ernie Krumm

Vivian Lasich

Chad Linton

Bryan Lopac

Mr. Jim and Mrs. Elise McCommons

Marlene Menze

Mr. and Mrs. Joseph H. Meyskens

Lauren Moosman

Don Palmer

Pasta Shop

Rotary Club of Marquette


Superior Blue Link, Inc.

Superior Fitness, Inc.

Jana Swett

The Marq

Third Base Bar

William Toomey

Tractor Supply Company

Mr. Jerry D. Tudor Jr. and Ms. Gina M. Tudor

Upper Hand Brewery

Mr. and Mrs. Richard Vermeulen MD

Mike Ward

Wood Jewelers

K. Wright



Support theatre at NMU through the tradition of the First Nighter's Club. Give today! 

Interested in learning more? Check us out on Facebook