Visiting Writers Program


2019-2020 Lineup


JERICHO BROWN: Thursday, October 17th, 2019 in Jamrich 1100 at 7:30pm.

Jericho BrownJERICHO BROWN is the recipient of a Whiting Writers’ Award and fellowships from the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation, the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University, and the Jericho Brown book coverNational Endowment for the Arts. Brown’s first book, Please (2008), won the American Book Award. His second book, The New Testament (2014), won the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award and was named one of the best of the year by Library Journal, Coldfront, and the Academy of American Poets. He is also the author of the collection The Tradition (2019). His poems have appeared in Buzzfeed, The Nation, The New York Times, The New Yorker, The New Republic, Time, and The Pushcart Prize Anthology, and several volumes of The Best American Poetry anthologies. He is an associate professor and the director of the Creative Writing Program at Emory University in Atlanta.



JEN SCAPPETTONE & JUDD MORRISSEY: Thursday, November 21st, 2019, 7:30pm in Ballroom 1 of the Northern Center.  
Co-sponsored with the Math & Computer Science Department and Extended Learning & Community Engagement Office.

Their project, based on archival and site-specific research in the Copper Country, LAMENT; Or, The Mine Has Been Opened Up Wellis an interactive augmented and virtual reality installation comprising poetry, documentary video and sound developed in collaboration with artist/technologist Abraham Avnisan and writer/composer Mark Booth. 

Jennifer ScappettoneJennifer Scappettone works at the juncture of scholarly research, translation, and the literary arts, on the page and off. She is the author of the books Killing the Moonlight: Modernism in Venice (2014), From Dame Quickly: Poems (2009), and The Republic of Exit 43: Outtakes & Scores from an Archaeology and Pop-Up Opera of the Corporate Dump (2016). Her most recent publication is SMOKEPENNY LYRICHORD HEAVENBRED: Two Acts (2018), an e-chapbook from The Elephants hailing from a libretto composed for live mixed-reality performance with writer and code artist Judd Morrissey and artist/technologist Abraham Avnisan. Other new work can be found in Asymptote, Boston Review, e-flux, Nuovi argomenti, and in the catalog for the US Pavilion of the 2018 Venice Architecture Biennale, Dimensions of Citizenship. She has won fellowships, residencies, and grants from foundations such as the Civitella Ranieri Foundation and the Center for Italian Modern Art, the Bogliasco Foundation, the Getty Research Center, and the Huntington Library, and was a 2010-11 Rome Prize Fellow. She is currently Associate Professor at the University of Chicago, and a 2018-19 Fellow at the Stanford Humanities Center. 


Judd Morrissey is a writer and code artist who creates poetic systems across a range of platforms incorporating electronic writing, Judd Morrisseyinternet art, live performance, and augmented reality. He is the creator of digital literary works including The Precession: An 80 Foot Long Internet Art Performance Poem (2011), The Last Performance [dot org] (Electronic Literature Collection Vol.2, 2011), The Jew’s Daughter (Electronic Literature Collection Vol.1, 2006), and My Name is Captain, Captain (Eastgate Systems, 2002). He is a recipient of a Creative Capital / Andy Warhol Foundation Arts Writers Grant, a Fulbright Scholar’s Award in Digital Culture, and a Mellon Foundation Collaborative Fellowship for Arts Practice and Scholarship. Judd is an Associate Professor at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago in Art and Technology Studies and Writing. His work has been the subject of numerous critical studies and reviews have appeared in the New York Times, The New Republic, RAINTAXI, and the Iowa Review.   



JILL OSIER: Thursday, April 9th, 2020 at 7:30pm in Peninsula II of the Northern Center. 

Jill OsierJill Osier is an American poet who was born in Iowa and now lives in Alaska. Her poetry appears in three chapbooks and in such journals as CrazyhorseThe Georgia ReviewPloughsharesPoetry, and The Southern Review. A recipient of an NEA Fellowship, Osier has served as the Diane Middlebrook Poetry Fellow at the Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing, the Chapbook Fellow at The Frost Place, and the George Bennett Fellow at Phillips Exeter Academy. Honors for her work include the Campbell Corner Poetry Prize and Poetry Society of America’s Alice Fay Di Castagnola Award.





Director of the Visiting Writers Program: Rachel May,


Past Visiting Writers


Nicole Walker
Aimee Nezhukumatathil
Dustin Parsons
Marcus Wicker
Carmen Maria Machado

Danez Smith
Joy Harjo
Robert Fanning
Kwame Dawes
Randa Jarrar

Matt Bell
Tarfia Faizullah
Jamaal May
Jenny Boully
Elena Passarello
Rigoberto Gonzalez

Leslie Jamison
Eula Biss
Tiphanie Yanique 
Kazim Ali
Robin Sloan (One Book, One Community book author)
Steven Church
Jennifer Percy

Mike Madonick
Monica McFawn
Charlie LeDuff (One Book, One Community book author)
Todd Kaneko
Lindsey Hunter

Jonathan Johnson
Karen Thompson Walker (One Book, One Community book author)
Joseph Bates

Nahid Rachlin
Jack Driscoll
Elena Gorokhova (One Book, One Community book author)
Matt Bell
Kwame Dawes