2014 Award Winners

(Click on links to read winning entries)


Barnard Award


Winner -

    Alex Shur for "Another Time's Forgotten Space"

Finalists -
    2nd Place - Nicole Grossman
          for "Protection Against Gray Wolves"

    3rd Place - Cheryl Brislin
          for "Detrimental Effects of Texting on Student's GPA and Well-being"


(Picture from left to right:  Cheryl Brislin, NMU Instructor Nancy Gold, Alex Shur, NMU Instructor Tracy Haack, and Director of Composition Laura Soldner)


Houston Award




Winner - Alyssa Younk for
"Disgraced: An Analysis of Gender Bias and Sexuality"

Finalists -   2nd Place - Aubrey Kall
for "The Charming Diaries"

                  3rd Place - Olivia Crawford
for "Seventy-Eight Million Minutes"



(Picture from left to right:  NMU Professor Lesley Larkin, Alyssa Younk, Olivia Crawford, NMU Instructor Cory Ferrer, and Director of Composition Laura Soldner)


Legler Memorial Poetry Prize


Winner - Parker Ameel for  "Be Here to Love Me"

1st Runner-up - Doug Turnbull for "Vulcan Cayembe"

2nd Runner-up - Macie Mitchell for "We Don't Eat"

3rd Runner-up - Maggie Hopp for "Snake in the Garden"

4th Runner-up - Audrey Jazdzyk for "The Feathered Gods"


(Picture from left to right:  Parker Ameel and Professor Beverly Matherne)



VandeZande Fiction Prize



Winner - Kaitlin Kolhoff for "The Bear"

Honorable Mentions-  Elizabeth Stieber for "Doves"

                   Elizabeth Butler for "Through the Dancing"




(Picture from left to right:  Professor Paul Lehmberg, Elizabeth Butler, and Kaitlin Kolhoff)



Cohodas Literary Prize


1st Prize, Jessica Ulrich, "The Corruption of Standardized Tests (A Genocide of the Mind?)"

2nd Prize, Katelyn Stralkowski, "The Importance of Civility in Modern Society"

3rd Prize, Mark Surrell, "The Genocide of Mental Disability"


(Pictured from left to right:  Jessica Ulrich, Katelyn Stralkowski, and Mark Surrell)IMG_20140429_111930345.jpg