2010 Writing Awards

(Click on links to read winning entries)

Barnard AwardJacqui Carroll

Winner - Jacqueline Carroll (in photo with her EN 111 professor Mark Smith) for her essay
"Oh Me, Oh Michelangelo"

        Finalists -
            Naysa Anderson for "Sooner"
            Stacie Davidson for "Sunday-Best"


Houston AwardReannon Dykehouse w/ Jason Markle

Winner - Reannon Dykehouse (in photo with her EN 211 instructor Jason Markle) for her essay "Irishmen"

Finalists -
    Hannah Cotton for "Tuesday Evening"
    Shauna Neshek for "American Untouchables"


Legler Memorial Poetry PrizeHannah Schug w/ Prof Matherne

Winner - Hannah Schug (in photo with Professor Beverly Matherne) for her poem "Limbo is a bus station"

    1st Runner-up - Courtney DePottey for her untitled poem
    2nd Runner-up - Jeremy Vavrik for "Walking Home"
    3rd Runner-up - Jessica Parker for "Fireflies"


VandeZande Fiction PrizeJessica Parker and Jeff VandeZande

Winner - Jessica Parker (in photo with Jeff VandeZande) for her story "An is to a was"

VandeZande Award Finalists

Finalists (from left to right ending with Professor Paul Lehmberg who presented the certificates) -

    Maxwell Peterson for "Fisgard and the Boy"
    Stacy Milbourn for "Snow"
    Tracy Pickering for "A Roving, Solitary Thing"
    Rachel Wendels for "Moldy Milk"
    Cameron Witbeck for "The Rifle Line"


Cohodas Literary Prize

Tracy Pickering

1st Place - Tracy Pickering (in photo with English Department Head Ray Ventre)
for her essay "The Romani"


Kylynn Perdue-Bronson

2nd Place - Kylynn Perdue-Bronson (in photo with English Department Head Ray Ventre)
for her essay "Chain of Evidence"


3rd Place - Hailey Heikkinen (in photo with English Department Head Ray Ventre)Hailey Heikkinen

for her essay "Abandon Ship Before It's Too Late
and All This Love I have Will Turn to Hate