Northern Michigan University is the state-approved School Bus Driver Training Agency for the central and western Upper Peninsula. The purpose of school bus safety instruction is to promote safe, efficient pupil transportation programs, using Michigan Department of Education approved curriculum.
Beginning School Bus Driver (BSBD)
18 hrs., $25. Class times are: Friday, 10 a.m.-7 p.m. and Saturday, 8 a.m.- 6 p.m. (**unless noted).
Continuing Education Curriculum (CEC)
6 hrs., $25. Class times are: Saturday, 9 a.m.- 3:30 p.m. (**unless noted).
This is a state-mandated continuing education requirement. Attendance is required for all six hours in order to successfully complete this class.
Please Note: Per the State of Michigan Pupil Transportation Public Act 187, Section 257.1851: Every current school bus driver holding a green or yellow education card that expires on Sept. 30, 2019 must attend a six-hour school bus driver continuing education class by that expiration date.
Drivers who do not complete this continuing education requirement by September 30, 2019 will be required to complete the Beginning School Bus Driver Training course in order to remain legally eligible to drive a school bus.
2021 Course Schedule
|July 21, 2021 (Wednesday)
Starts: 9:00 am ET
|Continuing Education||Mike Wommer||Munising||Munising High School|
|August 13 & 14, 2021
(Friday & Saturday)
Starts: 10 am Fri & 8 am Sat CT
|Beginning||Dan Kurtz||Crystal Falls||Forest Park Schools|
|August 18, 2021 (Wednesday)
Starts: 9:00 am CT
|Continuing Education||Cory Roell||Felch||North Dickinson Schools|
|September 25, 2021 (Saturday)
Starts: 9:00 am ET
|Continuing Education||Mike Wommer||Marquette||NMU - Jacobetti Complex|
|November 5 & 6, 2021
(Friday & Saturday)
Starts: 10 am Fri & 8 am Sat ET
Transportation Supervisor Training
No longer available - Transportation Supervisor CE Training - Part I & II; If you missed the Supervisor training and your card has expired, you must take another beginning bus driver class.
The Michigan Department of Education has separated Transportation Supervisor training into two three-hour segments.
YOU MUST COMPLETE BOTH SEGMENTS TO BE ELIGIBLE FOR A SUPERVISOR CARD.
Once Supervisors have completed BOTH segments, and the proper documentation is e-mailed to our office, you will be eligible for a new Transportation Supervisor card, which will have an expiration date of 9/30/2022.
New cards will be mailed (in September) to Supervisors after course requirements are completed.
Please Note: Public Act 187 states, "The person or persons in charge of school bus operations at a school shall successfully complete 6 hours of supervisory continuing education every 2 years after the successful completion of the beginning school bus driver or beginning supervisor training programs."
For more information regarding Pupil Transportation in Michigan, visit the Michigan Department of Education.
School bus driver medical information and website.
Approved Physician look-up: https://nationalregistry.fmcsa.dot.gov/NRPublicUI/home.seam
Insulin Dependent School Bus Drivers: Medical Waivers are no longer required for drivers with insulin-treated diabetes mellitus (ITDM). On November 19, 2018, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations regarding ITDM changed. A person with ITDM may be qualified to drive a commercial motor vehicle if he or she meets the requirements of 49 CFR 391.46.
The commercial driver must have his or her “Treating Clinician” complete the Insulin-Treated Diabetes Mellitus Assessment Form, MCSA-5870, and provide the completed form to the Certified Medical Examiner. If after reviewing the MCSA-5870, the Certified Medical Examiner determines the driver has a stable insulin regimen and properly controlled diabetes, a medical examiners certificate will be issued.