The Career Technical Education Committee of Marquette & Alger Counties

CTE Committee Photo

The CTE Committee was established in October 2013 with the intent of supporting secondary and post-secondary vocational programs and providing the skilled workforce needed to sustain and grow our regional economy.  Our like-minded but diverse organization has strengthened initiatives and provided many new opportunities for students.  Our main focus is helping young people make the best possible career decisions before they graduate from high school. 


1.    Increase CTE opportunities
2.    Publicize CTE programs
3.    Promote hands-on teaching methods
4.    Improve school counseling and mentoring programs
5.    Develop public/private partnerships
6.    Support the technical middle college
7.    Increase internships and job shadowing programs
8.    Improve transportation to CTE classes
9.    Support Professional Trades Career Day 




  • Stu Bradley (Chair)—USAF & Financial Advisor ** Brian Sarvello—MARESA CTE Director **
  • Tony Retaskie—UP Construction Council**
  • Deb Asano—MARESA Administrator
  • Rayme Martineau—MARESA High School Internships
  • Chad Rowley—MARESA High School Internships
  • Jim Yates—MARESA Consultant
  • Meagan Staton—Michigan Works!/JMG: Middle College
  • Corinna Peterson—Michigan Works!
  • Tracy Roberts--Michigan Works!
  • Stephen Gillotte—MI Veterans Employment Services
  • Brooke Quinn—Lake Superior Community Partnership
  • Alex Kofsky—Accelerate UP
  • Justin Carlson—CarlsonMedia
  • Dale Throenle—Chocolay Township David Lynch—Utility Consultant
  • Amy Quinn—Grow & Lead: CYD
  • Trina Ruokola—MI Rehab Services
  • Jason Sides—Great Lakes Recovery Centers Jackie Tahtinen—Great Lakes Recovery Centers Lewis Strom—Great Lakes Recovery Centers Jennifer Santer—Teaching Family Homes Meagen Morrison—Eagle Mine
  • Doug Lindblom—Eagle Mine
  • Troy Sarles—Cleveland Cliffs
  • Rob Bennett—RTI Surgical
  • Tim Roman—Ironworkers/UP Building Trades Karen Anderson—J M Longyear
  • Sarah Schultz—Home Builders Association UP Peter Premeau—Premeau Construction
  • Dan Perkins—Perkins Construction
  • Brianne Farr—Manpower
  • Abbey Palmer—MSU Extension North Farm John Centko—NMU
  • Stephanie Zadroga-Langlois—NMU
  • Mark Dellangelo—NMU
  • Bob Eslinger—NMU
  • Megan Nowicki--NMU
  • Deb Schultz—Northern Initiatives
  • Walker Derby—UP Health System
  • Cindy Noble—MI Area Health Education Center Katelyn Rader—Senator Peters UP Coordinator Connor Raak—Senator Peters UP Staff
  • Nick Emmendorfer—Congressman Bergman District Representative
  • Pat O’Brien—Boy Scouts
  • Les Bek—Girl Scouts
  • Liana Grimes—4H
  • Nheena Weyer Ittner—UP Children’s Museum

**Founding Committee Members

Magazine Sponsors Page
Please visit, "Like" and "Share" our Facebook page


main page