A former U.S. Olympic Education Center athlete placed 4th in the Iditarod. Dallas Seavey of Willow, Alaska, guided his team to the finish line in Nome Tuesday night. According to the Iditarod website, he completed the sled-dog race in nine days, two hours, 27 minutes and 18 seconds. Seavey spent one year training with the USOEC Greco-Roman team and was on the 2005 Junior World team. He is a third-generation musher who grew up helping his dad, Mitch, the 2004 Iditarod champion, train his racing team. Seavey ran the Jr. Iditarod four times and in 2005 became the youngest musher in history to run the Iditarod. He is part owner/manager of WildRide Sled Dog Rodeo in Anchorage. Seavey's wife, Jen, also is an Iditarod veteran. They have an infant daughter.

The student volunteers of NMU have received The Mining Journal Award for exceptional service to the Upper Peninsula Sled Dog Association. The award is "in recognition of the thousands of NMU students who have helped with everything from dog handling to covering crossings to working on the Web site to merchandise sales. Their dependability and endless enthusiasm and energy have been instrumental in making the race successful."

Mitchell Klett (Education) was invited by the Global Learning and Observations to Benefit the Environment (GLOBE) program to serve on its new U.S. Partner Regional Ambassador Committee. The committee will be asked to gather information from all U.S. partners about discussion topics such as activities, materials and professional development opportunities; continuation of the U.S. Master Trainer Program; Web 2.0 and other tools being considered; and successful implementation and funding strategies. Regional ambassadors will serve a one-year term, with possible renewal. GLOBE is a worldwide hands-on, primary and secondary school-based science and education program.

NMU students were honored by the Michigan Association of Broadcasters (MAB) Foundation in its 2011 state high school and college broadcast awards competition. In radio, Louis Justman and Erin Astle earned second place in the "station activities report" category. Television awards went to the following: Pete Francis, Brice Burge and Sean Kelly, honorable mention for talk show; Jordan Pink, Joe Chenail and Louis Justman, second place for sports play-by-play; Justman, Francis and Jerry Tudor, honorable mention for sports play-by-play. The awards were presented during the Great Lakes Broadcasting Conference and Expo March 9 in Lansing.

Submit your achievements here.



Copyright by the Board of Trustees of Northern Michigan University, 1401 Presque Isle Ave, Marquette, MI 49855 1-800-682-9797
Northern Michigan University is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.
Admissions questions | Technical questions | NMU Web Team
Updated: March 17, 2011

NMU logo