Celebration of Student Scholarship Awards

The 2018 Celebration Poster Award Winners

Undergraduate Lower Division (Freshmen and Sophomores)

1st Place Award: Rapid Colorimetric Detection of Pathogenic Escherichia coli Utilizing Loop-Mediated Isothermal Amplification
Author: Riley Morley, Faculty Mentor: Dr. Josh Sharp - Biology

2nd Place Award: Climate Change Messages for the Next Generation: A Focus on Health Impacts
Author: Amanda Newton, Faculty Mentor: Dr. Jes Thompson - Communication and Performance Studies

3rd Place Award: Tissue Dwelling Nematodes
Author: Alec Kauschaar, Faculty Mentor: Dr. Kurt Galbreath - Biology

Undergraduate Upper Division (Juniors and Seniors)

1st Place Award: Exploring Place Waste Reduction at Campus Dining Halls
Author: Joseph Dodd, Faculty Mentor: Dr. Sarah Mittlefehldt - Earth, Environmental, & Geographical Sciences

2nd Place Award: Land Use and Land Change Implications on Hydrological Processes of Adjacent Watersheds from 1975-2016
Author: Ryan Diederichs, Faculty Mentor: Dr. Matt VanGrinsven - Earth, Environmental, & Geographical Sciences

3rd Place Award: The Impact of Rock Climbing on Lichen in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan
Author: Georgia Harrison, Faculty Mentor: Dr. Alan Rebertus - Biology

Graduate Student Division

1st Place Award: The Roles of Muscle-Synthesized Brain-Derived Neurotrophic Factor and Presynaptic Tyrosine Receptor Kinase B in Motor Neuron Axonal Transport
Author: Luke VanOsdol, Faculty Mentor: Dr. Erich Ottem - Biology

2nd Place Award: Evolution of Freshwater Crabs in Lake Malawi in the African Rift Valley
Author: Emily Johnson, Faculty Mentor: Dr. Neil Cumberlidge - Biology

3rd Place Award: Phylogenetic Influence on Climate-Driven Range Shifts in North American Small Mammals
Author: Katie Nehiba, Faculty Mentor: Dr. Kurt Galbreath - Biology

Group Poster Division

1st Place Award: Implications of Bear Bile Farming on Conservation
Authors: Devon Hains, Ryan Mclaren, Emma Piper, & Kayla Traylor, Faculty Mentor: Dr. Diana Lafferty - Biology

2nd Place Award: Antibacterial Activity of Syzygium aromaticum and Cinnamomum zeylanicum Essential Oil and Thieves Oil
Authors: Claire Dobry, Claire Smith, Danielle Fawaz, & Jenny Klemm

3rd Place Award: Testing the Reliability of Radio-Frequency Identification (RFID) Readers Used for Monitoring Wild Birds in Banded Passerine Populations
Authors: Cody Selewski & James VanOrman


2018 Celebration Photos
2017 Celebration Program - Poster Award Winners 
2016 Celebration Program - Poster Award Winners  
2015 Celebration Program and view photos of the poster winners  and other event photos from 2015. 
2014 Celebration Program and view photos of the poster winners and other event photos from 2014. 
2013 Celebration Program and view photos of the poster winners and other event photos from 2013.
2012 Celebration Program and view photos of the poster winners and other event photos from 2012.