Student Announcements

Student Announcements

Jan 31 2014
Organization: Dean of Students Office
Contact: Dean of Students Office (

Nominations for Board of Trustees Student Achievement Awards

Board of Trustees Student Achievement Awards

The Board of Trustees Student Achievement Awards are awarded annually to recognize students for their significant contributions to the quality of life at NMU through his or her involvement in extra-curricular activities, either academically or socially oriented, or through work in a university department. All recipients must have a minimum 2.5 cumulative grade point average.

Any student, faculty member, or staff member may make nominations. All students nominated will be invited to submit further information. A committee consisting of members of the faculty, administrative staff, and student body will review the submissions to select one recipient for each award.

Description of Awards

One female and one male will be selected for the Outstanding Graduating Senior Award from the seniors graduating this winter semester or the past fall semester.

One student will be selected for the outstanding student of any class standing who has made significant contributions to the Northern Michigan University community.

One nontraditional student will be selected for the Outstanding Nontraditional Student Achievement Award. A nontraditional student is defined as an undergraduate who is over the age of 25, or married, or a single parent, or is working full time, or has served time in the military prior to beginning their college studies.

A student can be nominated in more than one category.

Nomination Deadline

Completed nomination forms must be submitted to the Dean of Students Office, by 5:00 p.m., on Thursday, February 13, 2014.

Additional information and nomination forms are available from the Dean of Students Web site:


Each Student Achievement Award recipient will be recognized at the annual Leadership Recognition Banquet, presented with a plaque, and recognized by the Board of Trustees. Additionally, the names of the recipients will be added to the perpetual plaque.

For further information, you may contact Mindy Nannestad, Dean of Students Office, 2001 C.B. Hedgcock Building,
906-227-1704 or