Press Box

April 11, 2005

April 12,2005


MARQUETTE, Mich. â€Â“ Two individual hockey awardrecipients have been announced by Walt Kyle, the head hockey coach at Northern Michigan University, as well as the Wildcats of the Week choices.  Ã‚ The remainingawards will be given out at the NMU Hockey Banquet on Thursday, April 13.  Thebanquet will be held in the University Center beginning at 6:30 p.m.


Andrew Contois was selected to receive the Jim MussattoMemorial Fitness Award.  The award is given to a player that holds the highestcombined ranking in the following categories:  three-mile run, bench press,push-ups, sit-ups, pull-ups, squats and lowest body fat.


The Steve Bozek Plus-Minus Award was awarded to Matt Maunu. This award is given to the player who had the best rating for being on the icefor the most goals scored and the fewest goals against.  Maunu had a +11 forthe 2005-06 season.


The Wildcats of the Week are given to an outstandingperformer for each series during the season.  This yearâ€Â™s winners:


Series (Date)


St. Cloud (Oct. 14-15)

Dirk Southern

Michigan Tech (Oct. 21-22)

Bill Zaniboni

Lake Superior (Oct. 28-29)

Nathan Oystrick

Michigan State (Nov. 4-5)

Andrew Contois

Michigan (Nov. 11-12)

Matt Siddall

Bowling Green (Nov. 18-19)

Jamie Milam

Alaska Fairbanks (Nov. 25-26)

Dirk Southern

Ferris State (Dec. 9-10)

Pat Bateman

Western Michigan (Dec. 17-18)

Zach Tarkir

Badger Showdown (Dec. 30-31)

Mike Santorelli

Miami (Jan. 6-7)

Darin Olver

Ferris State (Jan. 13-14)

Nathan Oystrick

Notre Dame (Jan. 20-21)

Darin Olver

Western Michigan (Jan. 27-28)

Matt Siddall

Wayne State (Feb. 3-4)

Dirk Southern

Nebraska-Omaha (Feb. 10-11)

Nathan Sigmund

Lake Superior (Feb. 17-18)

Nathan Sigmund

Ohio State (Feb. 24-25)

Jamie Milam








Prepared By
Dave Faiella
Sports Information Director