Press Box


MARQUETTE, Mich. â€Â“ The final day ofcompetition at the 2006 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC)Swimming and Diving Championships is now history.  Wayne State University wonboth the menâ€Â™s and womenâ€Â™s titles.  The Warriors swam to 710 points on thewomenâ€Â™s side. Ã‚  Grand Valley State University was second with 654 points.  The Northern Michigan University womenâ€Â™s team was fifth in the competition with 335 points. WSU tallied 773 points on the menâ€Â™s side to pick up the title. Ã‚  The University of Indianapolis placed second on the menâ€Â™s side with 697 points.


GVSU went one-two in the menâ€Â™s 3-meter board.  Ryan Smithwon the event with 380.25 points as teammate Joel Overway was second (369.15). 


Freshman Melissa Duff won the womenâ€Â™s 1,650-yard freestyleevent with a time of 17:38.31.  For the Wildcats, Courtney Lowry was eighth(18:48.71) and Lindsey Kuehn was 12th (19:17.40).  WSU took the topthree places in the menâ€Â™s 1,650 freestyle.  Guilherme Veiga swam an NCAA-A cuttime of 15:56.06 to win the event.  Teammates Nick Ingrao (15:59.32) and JaredTroyer (16:18.87) were second and third respectively.


Sarah Dobratz was the lone scorer for the â€Â˜Cats in the nextevent which was the 200 backstroke.  She swam a 2:12.05 which was good forfifth place.  Alison Smith from UIndy won the event with a time of 2:05.33,which was an NCAA-A cut.  Evan Kobes (GVSU) won the menâ€Â™s 200 backstroke as heset a new PEIF Pool and GLIAC Meet record with a 1:50.57.


Two Greyhounds won the 100 freestyle.  On the womenâ€Â™s sideit was Holly Spohr (53.08) and Marios Panagi on the menâ€Â™s side (46.08).


Hannah Bolger placed 11th for the â€Â˜Cats in the200 breaststroke with time of 2:34.38.  Kelly Meerman (GVSU) won the event witha clocking of 2:23.72.  Justin Barkel (GVSU) set a new pool record in winningthe menâ€Â™s side of the 200 breaststroke (2:05.45).


The final individual race of the meet was the 200butterfly.  On the womenâ€Â™s side, Jenna Thayer (GVSU) won the event with a2:08.28.  Anna Herman for NMU was sixth (2:12.17).  Sten Roosvald (UIndy) set anew PEIF Pool record in taking the menâ€Â™s side of the 200 butterfly (1:53.21).


UIndy took both sides of the final event the 400 freestylerelay.  The womenâ€Â™s team swam a 3:34.03 while the men swam a 3:05.19.  Themenâ€Â™s swim was a new PEIF Pool record.  The NMU womenâ€Â™s relay placed sixth asMimi Marschall, Emily Olson, Katie Stamerjohn and Anna Herman swam a 3:43.34. 



Womenâ€Â™s Athlete of the Year:  Alison Smith (University of Indianapolis)

Menâ€Â™s Athlete of the Year:  Evan Kobes (Grand Valley State University)

Womenâ€Â™s Freshman of the Year:  Melissa Duff (Wayne State University)

Menâ€Â™s Freshman of the Year:  Justin Barkel (Grand Valley State University)

Womenâ€Â™s Coach of the Year:  Sean Peters (Wayne State University)

Menâ€Â™s Coach of the Year:  Sean Peters (Wayne State University)







Prepared By
Dave Faiella
Sports Information Director