Press Box


MARQUETTE, Mich. â€Â“ Michelle Ruiz picked up thefirst title for the Northern Michigan University womenâ€Â™s swimming and divingteam on Friday night at the 2006 Great Lakes Intercollegiate AthleticConference (GLIAC) Swimming and Diving Championships.  Ruiz captured the1-meter board with a score of 340.30 a little more than 20 points better thansecond place finisher Erika Barczak from Wayne State University (320.20).


WSU still leads both team races at the meet.  The Warriorson the womenâ€Â™s side has 528 points as Grand Valley State University is insecond place with 469.  The Wildcats still sit in fourth place with 260points.  On the other side of the meet, the WSU menâ€Â™s team continues to leadthe team score after 29 events with 543 points.  The University of Indianapolis is in second place with 461 points.


Freshman Katie Murray, from UIndy, won the first swimmingevent of evening as she took the 400-yard I.M. in a new GLIAC Meet record timeof 4:33.59.  Mimi Marschall of the Wildcats placed sixth in the event with atime of 4:43.56.  Also placing in the event for the â€Â˜Cats were Sarah Dobratz in12th (4:54.28) and Courtney Lowry in 15th (4:55.06).  


WSU went one-two in the menâ€Â™s 400 I.M. as AJ Erard was first(4:02.30) and teammate Jared Troyer was next (4:03.92).  Erardâ€Â™s swim set a newPEIF Pool record.


Anna Herman placed third in the 100 butterfly with aclocking of 59.54.  Jenna Thayer, from GVSU, won the event in a time of 57.44as Valerie Crosby, from UIndy, was second (58.64).  Emily Olson, from NMU, was12th (1:03.28).  The Warriors picked up another win as Bruno Blancowon the menâ€Â™s side of the 100 butterfly (50.07), which was a new pool record.


The Greyhounds of UIndy went one-two in the womenâ€Â™s 200freestyle.  Alison Smith won the event with a time of 1:53.25 with teammateHolly Spohr second (1:56.03).  Smith is a repeat winner in the event.  Placingfor NMU in the event were Mimi Marschall in 11th (2:01.43) and KatieStamerjohn in 15th (2:05.10).  UIndy took two of the top three placesin the menâ€Â™s 200 freestyle.  Hanno Ahonen won with a time of 1:42.22, SebastianRzepa from WSU was second (1:43.71) and Kieran Oâ€Â™Neill was third (1:44.57).


Hannah Bolger (1:10.44) and Jojo Pollack (1:14.86) placedfor the â€Â˜Cats in the 100 breaststroke as they were 11th and 16threspectively.  Kelly Meerman of GVSU won the event (1:05.33).  Justin Barkel,from GVSU, won the menâ€Â™s 100 breaststroke with a time of 57.97 as MathiasIsaksson of WSU was second (58.89). 


Smith won her second event of the evening when she capturedthe 100 backstroke in a new PEIF Pool record time of 57.94.  She also won theevent at the 2005 meet.  Katie Harrigan was second in a time of 59.50.  EvanKobes, from GVSU, took the menâ€Â™s 100 backstroke in a new GLIAC Meet and PEIF Poolrecord time of 49.86. 


The relay team from UIndy took the womenâ€Â™s 800 freestylerelay with a time of 7:42.31.  The NMU team swam to a fifth-place finish in theevent with a time of 8:05.94.  Members of the relay were Marschall, Stamerjohn,Dobratz and Herman.  UIndy took the menâ€Â™s 800 freestyle relay (6:55.48).


The final day of the championship meet will be tomorrow(Feb. 18).





Prepared By
Dave Faiella
Sports Information Director