Press Box


MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. â€Â“ The Hobey BakerFoundation has announced the 10 finalist for the 2005 Hobey Baker MemorialAward.  Tuomas Tarkki from Northern Michigan University is a finalist for theaward.  The other finalist:  Reid Cashman, Quinnipiac; Patrick Eaves, BostonCollege; Dov Grumet-Morris, Harvard; T.J. Hensick, Michigan; David McKee,Cornell; Colin Murphy, Michigan Tech; Marty Sertich, Colorado College; JordanSigalet, Bowling Green; and Brett Sterling, Colorado College.


Tarkki is the first â€Â˜Cat since Scott Beattie in 1992 to be afinalist for the award.  â€ÂœTuomas is most deserving of this award,â€Â Walt Kyle,the head coach at NMU, said.  â€ÂœHis work ethic and determination over the pastthree years has carried him to become the player of today.â€Â


The finalist are selected by vote of the nationâ€Â™s 58Division I head coaches, along with the Preliminary Voting results in Vote forHobey, the awardâ€Â™s on-line fan balloting.  Criteria for the award, which iscelebrating its 25th season of honoring college hockeyâ€Â™s top player,include strength of character on and off the ice, along with scholasticachievements and sportsmanship.


The awardâ€Â™s winner will be determined from among thefinalist by the Hobey Baker Selection Committee, a group of coaches, scouts,media and a representative from USA Hockey.  Fans also contribute to the finaldecision through Vote for Hobeyâ€Â™s Final Voting phase (, which will runthrough Monday, March 28.


Tarkki, the senior, goaltender from Rauma, Finland was honored recently as the 2005 CCHA Player of the Year and the leagueâ€Â™s Best GoaltenderAward.  He led the conference with an 1.81 goals-against average and a .936save percentage, as he led the â€Â˜Cats to a team-best 38-point regular season. Ã¢Ã‚€Ã‚ÂœTuomas never quit and got most of what he has,â€Â Kyle added.  â€ÂœHe did not gounnoticed by his teammates.  The guys love to play in front of him.  Tuomas isthe type of person and player we want to produce at NMU.â€Â


Tarkki was also named to the All-CCHA First Team by theconferenceâ€Â™s coaches.  He is ranked nationally in save percentage, wins,goals-against and winning percentage.   


The top three finalists will be announced as the Hobey HatTrick on March 30.  The 2005 Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced April 8in Columbus, Ohio, the day before the championship game at the NCAA FrozenFour.  The ceremony will take place at Nationwide Arena, home of the NHLâ€Â™sColumbus Blue Jackets, beginning at 2:30 p.m. and is free and open to thepublic. 






Prepared By
Dave Faiella
Sports Information Director