Press Box


FARMINGTON HILLS, Mich. â€Â“ Northern MichiganUniversity landed a pair of players on the Central Collegiate HockeyAssociationâ€Â™s First Team All-Conference squad, which is the first time since1981 that the â€Â˜Cats landed two players on the first team.  The teams wereselected by a vote of the leagueâ€Â™s head coaches and are based on performance inleague games.  Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players.


Named to the first team for the â€Â˜Cats were Nathan Oystrickon the blue line, a second team honoree last year, and Tuomas Tarkki, who ledthe conference with the lowest goals-against average.  No NMU player wasselected for the second team or honorable mention.  Forwards Andrew Contois andDarin Olver both received votes.  Geoff Waugh picked up votes as a defenseman. 


Oystrick ended the regular season with 16 overall points(6-10) and nine points in CCHA action (2-7).  Tarkki was the top goaltender inthe CCHA in all games (18-6-5;2.00;.931) and in conference play(16-4-2;1.81;.936).


Prepared By
Dave Faiella
Sports Information Director