Press Box

June 9, 2003

June 9, 2003 Ã‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚   Ã‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚   Ã‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚   Ã‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ ÃƒÃ‚‚ 



MARQUETTE, Mich.-  Northern Michigan University became a member of the Chi Alpha Sigma,National College Athlete Honor Society (NCAHS) this past academic year.  NMU is an inaugural member of the MichiganAlpha Chapter as Michelle Guyant-Holloway (senior women'sadministrator/assistant women's basketball coach) is the chapter president. 


The National CollegeAthlete Honor Society, a not-for-profit organization was founded at DePauwUniversity in Greencastle, Ind. in May of 1996.  The NCAHS recognizes students who receive a varsity letter intheir sport while maintaining a 3.4 or higher cumulative GPA through their junioror senior year.


The mission of theNCAHS is to bring honor and recognition to deserving student-athletes, theirfamilies, teams, athletic departments and colleges in much the same way thatPhi Beta Kappa honors scholastics.  TheNational Council Governing Board of the NCAHS represents all the levels ofcompetition in the NCAA and NAIA.  TheNCAA and NAIA approve the concept and mission of the National College AthleteHonor Society (Chi Alpha Sigma) and the NCAHS complies with all the rules andregulations of these organizations.


NMU Members:


Ben Laarman

Brandon Munson

Dan Nett

Mike Oswald

Josh Sherko

Matt Vicenzi

Ryan Wender



Tara Baker

Elizabeth Hubert

Lindsey Mockenhaupt

Breanna Riedel



Kevin Gardner



Brooke Aronin

Heidi Ehlers

Kristin Koopmann


Swimming andDiving

Jill Bren

Kathryn Cole

Shelly Ruspakka

Sarah Verbrugge

Katie Worley




Jessica Nohl


Cross CountrySkiing - Men

Matt Nielsen


Cross Country

Rebecca Cote

Tracy Wills


Cross CountrySkiing - Women

Rachel Daw

Aniya Dietz

Shannon Dikkema

Kara Farquhar

Kelly Golz

Liza Gorkiewicz

Katherine Huemmer

Tami Kochen

Hilary Patzer

Aubrey Smith

Maria Stewart






Prepared By
Dave Faiella
Sports Information Director