Press Box

Justin Florek
Justin Florek

MARQUETTE, Mich. – The Northern Michigan University hockey team handed out its awards for the 2010-11 season Wednesday (April 13) night in the University Center.

Junior forward Justin Florek took home four plaques as he was named the Gary Emmons Most Valuable Player, the Bill Joyce Best Forward, the Dallas Drake Defensive Player of the Year and the recipient of the Clara Pantalone Memorial Community Service Award.

Sophomore defenseman Scott Macaulay was awarded the Tom Laidlaw Best Defenseman Award and the Steve Bozek Plus Minus Award.

Senior forward and captain Phil Fox received the Dennis Sibilsky Memorial Senior Award. Junior forward Andrew Cherniwchan received the Steve Weeks Unsung Hero Award while senior forward Nick Kosinski was named to Ed Ward Most Improved Player.

Goaltenders Jared Coreau and Devan Hartigan earned awards as Coreau received the Jim Mussatto Memorial Fitness Award and Hartigan got the Brad Werenka Coaches Academic Award.

Defenseman CJ Ludwig received the Don Waddell Best Freshman Award.

# # # NMU # # #

Prepared By
Calvin Larson
Sports Information