Press Box

MARQUETTE, Mich. – The Northern Michigan University women’s Nordic ski team announced its award winners for the 2010-11 season.

Christina Turman and Marie-Helen Soderman were named Most Valuable Skiers. Both Turman and Soderman qualified for NCAA Nationals and both were named All-Central Collegiate Ski Association First Team. Turman finished third in the freestyle and fourth in the classic at the conference championship. Soderman won the first classic race of the season at Michigan Tech.Soderman finished 13th in the 15k classic and 21st in the 5k freestyle at the NCAA Championship. Turman was 26th in the classic and 27th in the freestyle

Jordyn Ross brought home the Freshman of the Year award. She finished seventh in the freestyle at the Husky Challenge and 10th at the Super Tour in Houghton, Mich.

Most Improved Skier went to Rosie Frankowski while Ingrid Fjeldheim was awarded the first recipient of the Faiella award for sportsmanship and leadership.

# # # NMU # # #

Prepared By
Calvin Larson
Sports Information