Press Box

FARMINGTON HILLS, Mich. – Eleven outstanding student-athletes have been designated as their team’s 2010-11 Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be chosen from the group of nominees with the winner announced at the 2011 CCHA Awards, presented by RBC Financial Group, on Thursday, March 17.

2010-11 CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year Nominees:

Name Cl. Position Team Major
Bryant Molle Sr. Defenseman Alaska Civil Engineering
David Solway Sr. Forward Bowling Green Supply Chain Management
Chad Billins Jr. Defenseman Ferris State Marketing
Rick Schofi eld Sr. Forward Lake Superior Finance and Economics
Carter Camper Sr. Forward Miami Psychology
Carl Hagelin Sr. Forward Michigan Sport Management
Brock Shelgren Jr. Defenseman Michigan State Finance
Reid Ellingson Jr. Goaltender Northern Michigan Finance
Calle Ridderwall Sr. Forward Notre Dame Finance
Chris Reed Sr. Defenseman Ohio State Accounting
Ryan Watson Sr. Forward Western Michigan Finance

The faculty athletic representative at each school, in consultation with the head coach, selected the institution’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Each school’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year serves as the school’s nominee for CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Nominees must have a cumulative GPA of 3.25 through the fall term of the selection year to be eligible for CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, which is selected by the 11 faculty representatives. Voting is based on a system that awards five points for a first-place vote, three points for a second-place vote and one point for a third-place vote.

The 2011 CCHA Awards will be held on Thursday, March 17 at the Fox Theatre in Detroit. The event is open to the public and tickets are $15. The evening begins with a social hour at 6:30 p.m., followed by the presentation at 7:30 p.m. Tickets may be purchased at the door or by calling the CCHA office at (248) 888-0600.

Prepared By
Calvin Larson
Sports Information