Press Box

BAY CITY, Mich. – The Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference announced the Fall 2010 All-Academic Excellence and All-Academic Teams. Northern Michigan University had 55 student athletes from women’s cross country, football, women’s soccer and volleyball teams named to the GLIAC All-Academic teams.

To be eligible for all-academic excellence status, the student-athlete must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.50-4.0 on a 4.0 scale.

Cross country seniors Christina Gillis (Fairbanks, Alaska), Kristen Schulz (Kenosha, Wis.) and Rachael Williams (Plainwell, Mich.), along with juniors Molly Burger (Hayword, Wis.), Rose Frankowski (Minneapolis, Minn.), Rebecca Holmquist (Cadillac, Mich.), Olivia Juntila (Marquette, Mich.), Marie-Helen Soderman (Njurunda, Sweden) and sophomores Sarah Cousineau (Oakland Hills, Mich.), Mandy Dye (Delton, Mich.), Katherine Holway (Marquette, Mich.), Brittany Loomis (Cass City, Mich.) and Rita Woitas (Minnesota Lake, Minn.) were All-Academic Excellence.

Football had four juniors on the All-Academic Excellence team: Garrett Peck (Arena, Wis.), Anthony Propson (Chilton, Wis.), Kyle Senn (Fon du Lac, Wis.) and Brennan Van Effen (Escanaba, Mich.)

Senior soccer players Caitlin Glendenning (Green Bay, Wis.) and Anne Speers (Edmonton, Alberta), along with juniors Jessica Baker (Holt, Mich.), Brittany Buckingham (Big Rapids, Mich.), Melissa Mohr (Lansing, Mich.), Jenna Peplinski (Appleton, Wis.), sophomores Amelia Johnson (St. Michael, Minn.) and Rebekah Schmidt (Slinger, Wis.) were named All-Academic Excellence.

Senior volleyball player Katie Twardzik (Laurium, Mich.), along with juniors Rebecca Feuerherd (Madison, Wis.), Catherine Waybright (Torrance, Calif.), sophomore Andree Ring (Madison, Wis.) and freshman Sarah Hamilton (Galesburg, Mich.) were named All-Academic Excellence.

The following Wildcats were named All-Academic by the GLIAC. To be eligible for all-academic status, the student-athlete must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0-3.49 on a 4.0 scale, and must not be a freshman or first year transfer. 

Cross Country seniors Brianne Gerlach-McDonald (Harper Woods, Mich.), Kirsten Hoklas (Crystal Lake, Ill.) and Jessica Krob (Downers Grove, Ill.), along with junior Nora Kiilunen (Brighton, Mich.) and sophomore Monica Markvardsen (Northport, Wash.) were honored.

Football seniors Daniel Catalano (Belle Mead, N.J.) and Jacob Lehmann (Ishpeming, Mich.), along with juniors Michael Belmonte (Grand Rapids, Mich.), Carter Kopach (Bolingbrook, Ill.), Jordan Mancl (Stevens Point, Wis.), Craig Thompson (Allendale, Mich.), Eric Wells (Agoura Hills, Calif.) and Keith Wilson (Wauconda, Ill.), sophomores Casey Cotta (Los Banos, Calif.), Michael Kosocky (Mio, Mich.), Morgan Stenz (Alpena, Mich.) and Anthony Vella (Dearborn Heights, Mich.) were honored.

Juniors Rosemary Pruzinsky (Howell, Mich.), Dana Stephens (Wyandotte, Mich.), along with sophomores Cassandra McCary (Charlevoix, Mich.) and Kelly Wendels (Lake Anne, Mich.) were soccer athletes honored.

Volleyball had four players honored as All-Academic when Junior Emma Wolfe (Madison, Wis.), along with sophomores Daniela Branco (Belo Horizonte, Brazil), Julianne Francek (Avoca, Mich.) and Abigail Lovell (Leonard, Mich.) excelled in the classroom.

# # # NMU # # #

Prepared By
Mike Levy
NMU Sports Information