Press Box


MARQUETTE – The United States Olympic Education Center has named 43 athletes to the Fall 2010 All-Academic Team. Students must have a GPA of 3.0 or higher to qualify.

            Weightlifters on the team are Northern Michigan University graduate student Breanne Carlson (Peshtigo, Wis.) and former graduate student Collin Ito (Vista, Calif.); seniors Sara Cowles (Daytona Beach, Fla.), Allie Henry (River Falls, Wis.) and Steve Jarvis (Niagara, Wis.); juniors Robin Feuerman (Altamonte Springs, Fla.) and Josh Barnett (Sanford, Fla.); sophomores Matt Fraser (Colchester, Vt.), Chris Lenahen (Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla.), Max Cretcher (Rochester Hills, Mich.), Mike Evans (Moorestown, N.J.) and Andrew Vrabel (Highland, Ind.); and freshmen Holly Krzeminski (Port Charlotte, Fla.) and Patricia Park (Rochester Hills, Mich.).

            Speedskaters on the team are seniors Tamara Frederick (Park Ridge, Ill.), Levi Kirkpatrick (Hills, Iowa) and Cherise Wilkins (Syracuse, N.Y.); junior Dan Fiorenza (Wausau, Wis.); sophomore Kimberly Derrick (Memphis, Tenn.); and freshman Sarah Burg (Alpena, Mich.).

            Freestyle wrestlers earning the honors include graduate student Mary Kelly (Mahomet, Ill.); seniors Laura Conway (Traverse City, Mich.) and Amber Miracle (Berlin, Wis.); junior Patricia Hill (Merrill, Wis.); sophomores Cassandra Schmidt (Missoula, Mont.) and Carlene Sluberski (Fredonia, N.Y.); and freshman Lilia Gudzyuk (Auburn, Wash.).

            Greco-Roman wrestlers that made the cut are senior Ben Sanchez (Leominster, Mass.); juniors Aaron Briggs (Tuscon, Ariz.), Alex Fleming (Sterling, Va.), Ryan Hope (Carol Stream, Ill.) and Zac Nielson (Zimmerman, Minn.); sophomores Corey Hope (Carol Stream, Ill.), Christopher Michael (North Olmsted, Ohio) and Mark Stenberg (Lockport, Ill.); freshmen Joe DeNova (Fortson, Ga.), Ethan Dondlinger (Slinger, Wis.), Dmitry Ryabchinskiy (Brooklyn, N.Y.) and Caleb Smith (Patoka, Ind.).

            Freshman boxer Fidel Cervantes (Kansas City, Kan.) finishes the roster for the All-Academic Team.

            Seven of the 43 athletes finished with a 4.0 GPA: speedskaters Malone, Fiorenza and Winslow; and weightlifters Ito, Jarvis, Carlson and Park.

Prepared By
Laura Niemela
Media Relations Coordinator