Press Box

CLEVELAND, Ohio – Forty-seven Northern Michigan University student-athletes have been named 2009-10 recipients by the Division II Athletics Directors Association (DII ADA) Academic Achievement Awards presented by WeatherPORT.  The Academic Achievement Awards is a program that recognizes the academic accomplishments of student-athletes at the Division II level. 

Ninety-two institutions sent in nominees for the 2009-10 Academic Achievement Awards, while a total of 3,022 student-athletes are being recognized this year. 

In order for a student-athlete to receive an Academic Achievement Award, the athletics director of the Division II institution must be a current dues paying member of the DII ADA.

The student-athlete must:

  • have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale
  • have attended a minimum of two years (four semesters) of college level work
  • have been an active member of an intercollegiate team during his/her last academic year

Student-athletes selected from NMU:
Amy Andersen-Goldsworthy (volleyball)
Catherine Angeli (indoor/outdoor track and field)
Erin Astle (indoor/outdoor track field)
Jessica Baker (soccer)
Brittnee Balbierz (indoor/outdoor track field)
Martin Banerud (Nordic skiing-men)
James Bergen-Hartigan (ice hockey)
Anna Karin Berglund (Nordic skiing-women)
Christopher Bowler (Nordic skiing-men)
Brittany Buckingham (soccer)
Molly Burger (cross country and Nordic skiing-women)
Caitlin Cassidy (cross country and Nordic skiing-women)
Timothy Cook (Nordic skiing-men)
Laura DeWitt (Nordic skiing-women)
Reid Ellingson (ice hockey)
Christa Erickson (basketball-women)
Rebecca Feuerherd (volleyball)
Christina Gills (cross country and Nordic skiing-women)
Caitlin Glendenning (soccer)
Shannon Helminen (basketball-women)
Maria Hoffman (cross country and indoor/outdoor track and field)
Adam Huss (golf)
Olivia Juntila (cross country and indoor/outdoor track and field)
Joanna Kiilunen (soccer)
Jonathan Laue (football)
Emily Lockery (soccer)
Erin McCulloch (cross country and indoor/outdoor track and field)
Melisa Mohr (soccer)
Casandra Osiecki (volleyball)
Garrett Peck (football)
Anthony Propson (football)
Kellie Rietveld (basketball-women)
Austin Rowe (basketball-men)
Kristen Schulz (cross country and indoor/outdoor track and field)
Kyle Senn (football)
Marie-Helen Soderman (cross country and Nordic skiing-women)
Anne Speers (soccer)
Krista Squiers (indoor/outdoor track and field)
Danielle Stein (cross country)
Katie Twardzik (volleyball)
Brennan VanEffen (football)
Erin VanEnkevort (cross country and indoor/outdoor track and field)
Christopher Warner (basketball-men)
Jennifer Wiedmeyer (cross country)
Rachael Williams (indoor/outdoor track and field)
Nathan Yelk (football)
Callie Youngman (basketball-women)

### NMU ###

Prepared By
David Faiella
Sports Information Director