Press Box

George Cartwright
George Cartwright


MARQUETTE, Mich. – The Northern Michigan University men’s Nordic ski team announces its awards for the 2009-10 season.
George Cartwright was named the team’s MVP and the Freshman of the Year. He was a first team selection to the All-Central Collegiate Ski Association (CCSA) all-conference team. At the NCAA Skiing Championships he placed 28th in the 10K classic and 30th in the 20K freestyle races. The newcomer from Lander, Wyo. captured the 15K freestyle race at the NCAA Regional event and was third in the 10K classic.
Picking up the Most Improved Skier Award was Chris Bowler. He placed 34th in the 20K freestyle race at the NCAA Skiing Championships and was 30th in the 10K classic. 
Tim Cook took home the Team Choice Award. He skied to a 12th place finish in the 15K freestyle race at the NCAA Regional and was 20th in the 10K classic.
Martin Stuge Banerud and Kevin Cutts were named captains for next season.
#### NMU ###


Prepared By
David Faiella
Sports Information Director