Press Box

MARQUETTE, Mich. – The Northern Michigan University Athletes of the Year along with the Gildo Canale Senior Award winners will be announced at the Student-Athlete Awards Banquet which will be held Saturday, April 24 in the Great Lakes Rooms of the University Center. A social hour at 6 p.m. will begin the evening with the dinner and program to follow at 7 p.m. 

The Athlete of the Year is awarded to a male and female student-athlete based on athletic performance for the 2009-10 academic year. To be awarded the Gildo Canale Senior Award a student-athlete must be a senior, have competed in intercollegiate athletics for four years at NMU, have a superior academic record and exhibit high character. The award was established in 1982 by former NMU Athletic Director Gildo Canale. An award is given to a male and female student-athlete.

Also part of the program will be the induction of four new members into the NMU Sports Hall of Fame. Being inducted are Justin Gluesing, Deanna (Sutton) Kreski, Mike Mielke and Monica (Hayes) Todd. 

Tickets are available for the evening at $20 for adults and $15 for students at the NMU Superior Dome Ticket Office or by calling 906-227-1032.
The banquet is sponsored in part by Superior Oasis and Downtown EyeCare.
### NMU ###

Prepared By
David Faiella
Sports Information Director