Press Box


MARQUETTE, Mich. – The staff of announces its annual award winners for the 2009-10 season. Winners were chosen from the seven men’s NCAA Division I teams in the state (Ferris State University, Lake Superior State University, University of Michigan, Michigan State University, Michigan Tech University, Northern Michigan University and Western Michigan University).  
NMU forward and Hobey Baker Finalist Mark Olver was named the MICHO Player of the Year. Two other Wildcats picked up individual awards. Walt Kyle was named the MICHO Coach of the Year while Erik Gustafsson was selected the MICHO Defenseman of the Year. Both were repeat selections from last year.   
Olver along with Gustafsson were named to the All-MICHO First Team. Forward Ray Kaunisto and goaltender Brian Stewart were selected to the All-MICHO Second Team. Forward Greger Hanson received votes for All-MICHO accolades. Kyle Follmer (defenseman) received votes for the MICHO All-Rookie Team.
Kyle led the ‘Cats to the Central Collegiate Hockey Association (CCHA) championship game this past season and a fourth-place finish in the conference standings. He led the ‘Cats to its first appearance in the NCAA Tournament since 1999.
Olver and Gustafsson signed contracts this week with Colorado and Philadelphia respectively. Olver led the ‘Cats during the 2009-10 season with 49 points on 19 goals and 30 assists. Gustafsson was second on the team with 29 assists. He also picked up three goals for 32 points. Olver and Gustafsson were All-CCHA First Team selections for the past season.
Kaunisto ended the 2009-10 campaign with 32 points on 18 goals and 14 assists. Stewart was 18-11-7 for the ‘Cats. He recorded a 2.43 goal-against average and a .927 save-percentage. Hanson picked up 38 points on 16 goals and 22 assists. Follmer recorded 14 points on two goals and 12 assists. was started in 2000 and has been a primary source for college hockey fans in the state of Michigan for all the latest news and scores relating to all college teams in the state.
### NMU ###


Prepared By
David Faiella
Sports Information Director