Press Box

NEW ORLEANS, La. – The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced the women’s 2008 Division II Track and Field Scholar Teams of the Year. Adams State College was selected as the 2008 Indoor Track and Field Scholar Team of the Year while Abilene Christian University was chosen as this year’s Outdoor Track and Field Scholar Team of the Year. 
The Northern Michigan University women’s track and field team made the list with a team GPA of 3.110. A total of 58 Division II women’s track and field programs were recognized as 2008 USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Teams. NMU was one of nine Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) teams on the list. Joining the Wildcats from the GLIAC were Ashland University, Grand Valley State University, Hillsdale College, Lake Superior State University, Michigan Tech University, Northwood University, Saginaw Valley State University and the University of Findlay.
The selection of the All-Academic Indoor and Outdoor Scholar Teams of the Year award is based on a combination of academic and athletic achievements with the top honor going to the team that had the combination of best overall finish at the Division II Indoor or Outdoor National Championships and cumulative GPA.
To be nominated, the team must carry a minimum 3.000 cumulative grade-point average.
### NMU ###

Prepared By
David Faiella
Sports Information Director