Press Box

Mark Olver
Mark Olver
MARQUETTE, Mich. – The Northern Michigan University hockey team presented its team awards at the annual banquet on Wednesday night (April 16). Erik Gustafsson and Mark Olver walked away with two awards each. Gustafsson and Olver were both selected to the CCHA All-Rookie Team for the 2007-08 season. 
Olver went home with the Don Waddell Best Freshman and Bill Joyce Best Forward Awards. He led the Wildcats in goals (21) and points (38) for the 2007-08 season.  
Gustafsson received the Steve Bozek Plus-Minus and Tom Laidlaw Best Defenseman Awards. He recorded a team-high +16 in overall games and +17 in conference action. Gustafsson ended the 2007-08 season with 27 points all from assists.
The Dennis Sibilsky Memorial Senior Award was given to Matt Siddall. The award is given by the coaching staff to the player who exemplifies sportsmanship, leadership, and ability on the ice and in the classroom. Siddall tied for second on the team with 36 points (18-18).
Brian Stewart was given the Gary Emmons Most Valuable Player Award. He appeared in 35 games during the 2007-08 season. Stewart was 15-15-4 with a 2.62 goal-against average and a .918 save-percentage. 
Billy Smith and Derek May shared the Brad Werenka Coaches Academic Award. The award is given by the coaching staff to a player who performed best in the classroom during the season. Smith ended the season with 15 points (4-11) while May had three points (0-3).
The Ed Ward Most Improved Players Award went to Matt Butcher. He ended the 2007-08 campaign with 23 points on eight goals and 15 assists. 
Alan Dorich walked away with the Dallas Drake Defensive Player of the Year Award. He ended up with seven points all on assists for the 2007-08 season.
Blake Cosgrove received the Jim Mussatto Memorial Fitness Award. To receive this award a player who holds the highest combined ranking in the following categories: three mile run, bench press, push-ups, sit-ups, pull-ups, squats and lowest body fat. On the ice for the 2007-08 season, Cosgrove had seven points all on assists.
The Clara Pantalone Memorial Community Service Awards is given by the coaching staff to the player who contributed the most to the community, in terms of working with children and people, during the course of the season. This year’s recipient was Andrew Sarauer. He assisted with the Special Olympics; an instructor at the CCHA Hockey Is Fun Clinic and was a volunteer reader to first graders at Cherry Creek School. On the ice, Sarauer had three goals, six assists for nine points.
Tim Hartung walked away with the Steve Weeks Unsung Hero Award. He tallied three goals, five assists for eight points for the 2007-08 season. 
### NMU ###

Prepared By
David Faiella
Sports Information Director