Press Box

Billy Smith
Billy Smith
FARMINGTON HILLS, Mich. – Billy Smith has been designated as Northern Michigan University’s 2007-08 Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The Central Collegiate Hockey Association (CCHA) Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be chosen from among the group of nominees with the winner announced at the 2008 CCHA Awards on Thursday, March 20. The sophomore, forward from Sterling, Alaska currently has 15 points on four goals and 11 assists. Smith is majoring in entrepreneurship.
The faculty athletic representative at each school, in conjunction with the head coach, selected the institution’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Each school’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year serves as the school’s nominee for CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year. 
Nominees must have a cumulative GPA of 3.25 through the fall term of the selection year to receive the school’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award. The CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year is selected by the 12 faculty representatives. Voting is based on a system that awards five points for a first-place vote, three for a second-place vote and one point for a third-place vote. 
2007-08 CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year Nominees
Trevor Hyatt (Alaska)
Kyle Page (Bowling Green)
Aaron Lewicki (Ferris State)
Jason Blain (Lake Superior)
Charlie Effinger (Miami)
Jeff Lerg (Michigan State)
Jeremie Dupont (Nebraska-Omaha)
Billy Smith (Northern Michigan)
Jordan Pearce (Notre Dame)
John Dingle (Ohio State)
Dave Krisky (Western Michigan)
### NMU ###

Prepared By
David Faiella
Sports Information Director