Faculty and Staff

To contact the Department of Sociology and Anthropology, e-mail sosw@nmu.edu or call 906-227-2706.

Alan McEvoy, Ph.D.
Professor of Sociology and Head, Department of Sociology and Anthropology
Phone: 906-227-1687
Office: 2412 Jamrich Hall
e-mail: amcevoy@nmu.edu

Alex Ruuska, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Anthropology
Phone : 906-227-2030
Office : 2411 Jamrich Hall
Sociocultural Lab: 2318 Jamrich Hall
E-mail : aruuska@nmu.edu

Scott Demel, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Phone : 906-227-2843
Office : 2410 Jamrich Hall
Archaeology Lab: 2313 Jamrich Hall
E-mail : sdemel@nmu.edu

Michael Loukinen, Ph.D.
Professor of Sociology
Phone : 906-227-2041
Office : 2417 Jamrich Hall
Studio: 104 Jacobetti
E-mail : loukinen@nmu.edu
Web Page: www.upnorthfilms.com

Renxin Yang, Ph.D.
Professor of Sociology
Phone : 906-227-1120
Office : 2413 Jamrich Hall
E-mail : ryang@nmu.edu
Web Page:http://myweb.nmu.edu/~ryang/

Jeanne M. Lorentzen, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Phone : 906-227-2841
Office : 2409 Jamrich Hall
E-mail : jlorentz@nmu.edu

Yan Z. Ciupak, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Phone: 906-227-1158
Office: 2416 Jamrich Hall
E-mail: yciupak@nmu.edu

Guðmundur "Gummi" Oddsson, Ph.D.
​Assistant Professor of Sociology 
Phone: 906-227-1148
Office: 2415 Jamrich Hall
E-mail: goddsson@nmu.edu

Susan Henderson
Department Secretary
Phone : 906-227-2706
Office : 2400 Jamrich Hall
e-mail : shenders@nmu.edu