Please plan to join us at NMU's annual Sigma Xi banquet and Distinguished Lecture!  

Both events will take place on March 17, 2016.  Our banquet will begin at 5:30 p.m. in the Charcoal Room of NMU's University Center, with dinner served at 6:00.  At 8:00 p.m. we will convene in Jamrich 1320 for the Sigma Xi Distinguished Public Lecture. Our lecturer this year is Dr. Mark Serreze, Professor of Geography at the University of Colorado Boulder and the Director of the National Snow & Ice Data Center. The title of his presentation is "The New Arctic".  The presentation will focus on loss of ice in the Arctic Ocean and on the Greenland Ice Sheet and permafrost melt in the Arctic, and the influence of this loss on the release of carbon from permafrost, global atmospheric circulation and precipitation, and a growing economic and strategic importance of the region. Note that the Distinguished Lecture is free and open to the public, so even if you cannot join us for the banquet, please do attend the lecture and bring your friends!

We ask that those planning to attend the banquet please RSVP to the Sigma Xi Treasurer, Dr. Mark Paulsen (, prior to March 14 so that we can get a count for the caterer.  Attendees are asked to cover the cost of their meal ($20 per plate), and payment should be submitted to Dr. Paulsen.  An RSVP form with entrée selections is located above,(click on the link or click here) and checks can be made payable to NMU Sigma Xi.  

Finally, we will be recognizing new members at the banquet, and we are currently soliciting nominations for membership.  Please consider nominating your colleagues and/or students for membership in Sigma Xi!  Nomination for Associate Membership in Sigma Xi is an excellent way to recognize the efforts of student researchers and to encourage their continued engagement with the research community.  A nomination form is also linked above or click here.  Please submit completed nomination forms and membership fees (for new initiates: $50 student fee; $110 regular membership fee) to Dr. Paulsen prior to the banquet.