Faculty and Staff

Carter Wilson headshot

Carter Wilson

Department Head and Professor
Office 235 Gries Hall
Phone: (906)227-1502
Email: carwilso@nmu.edu
Interests: Public Policy, Civil Rights Policy, Economic Policy, and Public Administration

  • Ph.D., Wayne State University
  • M.A., Wayne State University
  • B.A., Wayne State University
Jonathan Allen headshot

Jonathan Allen

Associate Professor
Office: 258 Gries Hall
Phone: (906)227-1815
Email: jonallen@nmu.edu
Interests: Introduction of Political Science, Politics and Film, and Political Theory

  • Ph.D., M.A., Princeton University
  • M.A., McGill University
  • M.A., B.A., Rand Afrikaans University
  • B.A., Stellenbosch University
William Ball headshot

William Ball

Professor
Office: 259 Gries Hall
Phone: (906)227-1821
Email: wball@nmu.edu
Interests: Introduction to Political Science, Comparative Politics, and International Relations

  • Ph.D., Northern Illinois University
  • M.A., Northeastern Illinois University
  • B.S., Southern Illinois University
headshot of Brian Cherry

Brian D. Cherry

Graduate Program Director 
Professor
(Former Assistant Provost)

Office: 260 Gries Hall
Phone: (906)227-1823
Email: bcherry@nmu.edu
Interests: Higher Education Administration, State and Local Government, and Public Administration

  • Ph.D., Indiana State University
  • MPA, Indiana State University
  • B.S., University of Southern Indiana

Personal Webpage 

David S. Haynes

Professor 
(Former President) 

148 Whitman Hall
Phone:  (906)227-1899
Email:  dhaynes@nmu.edu
Interests: Higher Education Administration and Public Administration 

Vita

  • J.D., Western Michigan University Law School
  • B.S., Northern Michigan University 


 

Hanna S. Kassab 

Visiting Assistant Professor 
Office: 263 Gries Hall
Phone: (906)227-2093
Email: hkassab@nmu.edu
Interests: Introduction to Political Science, Comparative Politics, and International Relations

  • Ph.D., University of Miami 
  • M.A., York University
  • B.S., McMaster University  
     

Steve E. Nelson

Professor
Internship Director

Office: 261 Gries Hall
Phone: (906)227-2182
Email: stnelson@nmu.edu
Interests: American Government, Introduction to Law, and Research Methods

  • Ph.D., University of Iowa
  • J.D., University of Iowa
  • B.A., University of Iowa
     

Ruth Watry

Professor
Director, Paralegal Studies

Office: 262 Gries Hall
Phone: (906)227-1824
Email: rwatry@nmu.edu
Interests: American Government, Constitutional Law, and Women and Politics

  • Ph.D., University of Delaware
  • M.A., Washington University
  • MBA, University of New Mexico
  • B.A., Mankato State University
 

Lara Clisch 

Principal Secretary 
Office: 200A Gries Hall
Phone: (906)227-2019 
Email: lclisch@nmu.edu 

 

faculty_and_staff