Faculty and Staff

Carter Wilson headshot

Carter Wilson

Department Head and Professor

Office 200C Cohodas Hall
Phone: 906-227-1502
Email: carwilso@nmu.edu
Interests: Public Policy, Civil Rights Policy, Economic Policy, and Public Administration

  • Ph.D., Wayne State University
  • M.A., Wayne State University
  • B.A. Wayne State University
Jonathan Allen headshot

Jonathan Allen

Associate Professor
Office: 201S Cohodas Hall
Phone: 906-227-1815
E-mail: jonallen@nmu.edu
Interests: Introduction of Political Science, Political Theory and Politics, and Film

  • Ph.D., M.A., Princeton University
  • M.A., McGill University
  • M.A., B.A., Rand Afrikaans University
  • B.A., Stellenbosch University
William Ball headshot

William Ball

Office: 200A Cohodas Hall
Phone: 906-227-1821
E-mail: wball@nmu.edu
Interests: Introduction to Political Science, Comparative Politics, and International Relations

  • Ph.D., Northern Illinois University
  • M.A., Northeastern Illinois University
  • B.S., Southern Illinois University

Lara Clisch

Principal Secretary
Office: 208 Cohodas Hall
Phone: 906-227-2019
E-mail: lclisch@nmu.edu

Steve Nelson

Internship Director

Office: 201V Cohodas Hall
Phone: 906-227-2182
E-mail: stnelson@nmu.edu
Interests: American Government, Introduction to Law, and Research Methods.

  • Ph.D., University of Iowa
  • J.D., University of Iowa
  • B.A., University of Iowa

Aura Syed

Office: 201U Cohodas Hall
Phone: 906-227-1868
E-mail: asyed@nmu.edu
Interests: Introduction to Political Science, Politics of Islamic Nations, and Public Policy Analysis

  • Ph.D. - Public Policy, Virginia Tech.
  • M.A.  - American Studies, State University of New York at Buffalo
  • M.P.A. -  Punjab University
  • B.S.(Honors) - Punjab University

Ruth Watry

Associate Professor
Office: 201W Cohodas Hall
Phone: 906-227-1824
E-mail: rwatry@nmu.edu
Interests: American Government, Constitutional Law, and Women and Politics.

  • Ph.D., University of Delaware
  • M.A., Washington University
  • MBA, University of New Mexico
  • B.A., Mankato State University