Leadership Recognition Banquet

Thursday, April 14, 2016

The Leadership Recognition Banquet has become a very special occasion and tradition at Northern Michigan University.  The Leadership Recognition Banquet is an opportunity to recognize students, advisers, and student organizations for their contributions to the campus community.  It occurs every April with over 500 student leaders and their advisers in attendance.  Winners of six special awards for student organizations are honored at the Leadership Recognition Banquet.

STUDENT KEYNOTE SPEAKER:  Applications for the Student Keynote Speaker are being accepted through Friday, March 25.  If you are a senior graduating in May, August, or December of 2016 and have notable leadership involvement on campus, please consider applying.  Contact Sara Hujar (906-227-1215, shujar@nmu.edu) for more information.

Pictures Needed


Show off your student organization at the Leadership Recognition Banquet by submitting photos of your group in action throughout the year! Student organization photos will be displayed during the banquet's slide show. Send your photos to ckamps@nmu.edu so your organization is represented!

Student Organization Awards

Application Form (2015-2016)

Student Organization Awards Descriptions & Selection Criteria (2015-2016)

Organization of the Year (General)
Recognizes an outstanding student group that has built a solid organization and has achieved success in accomplishing its goals.

2015-2016 recipient:  Elementary Education Math Club
2014-2015 recipient:  Figure Skating Club

Organization of the Year (University Funded)
Recognizes an organization that receives substantial support (financial, advisement, etc.) from Northern Michigan University, has a campus-wide mission, has built a solid organization, and does an excellent job of performing its defined role. Organizations included in this category are:

  • Campus Cinema
  • First Aid Productions
  • Gonzo Media
  • The North Wind
  • Northern Arts & Entertainment
  • Platform Personalities
  • Primetime Productions
  • Special Events Committee
  • Student Art Gallery
  • Student Finance Committee
  • WUPX

2015-2016 recipient:  Wildcat Marching Band
​2014-2015 recipient:  Campus Cinema

Community Service Award
Recognizes the organization that has demonstrated the highest degree of volunteer service contributions to the surrounding Upper Peninsula communities during the academic year. Factors such as quantity of participants and quality of project outcomes will be considered. The award can also be given to an organization that has done one outstanding project.

2015-2016 recipient:  Marquette Ending Hunger
2014-2015 recipient:  
EEGS Garden Club

Program of the Year
Recognizes an outstanding effort by an organization to plan, promote, and implement a single program or event during the year.

2015-2016 recipient:  Women for Women
2014-2015 recipient:  Marquette Ending Hunger - NMU Fights Famine

Project of the Year
Recognizes an outstanding effort by an organization to plan and implement a project that benefited the campus and/or community during this past year.

2015-2016 recipient:  Black Student Union
2014-2015 recipient:  PrimeTime Productions - Sexual Assault Awareness Programs

Diversity Program/Project of the Year 
Recognizes an outstanding effort by a student organization to plan, promote, and implement a single project or event during the year that promoted the understanding, appreciation, and embracing diversity.

2015-2016 recipient:  All About Korea
2014-2015 recipient:  Black Student Union - A Piece of Black History

Adviser of the Year
Recognizes an individual who has done an outstanding job in her/her role as an adviser to a student organization.

2015-2016 recipient:  Chris Kibit, Culinary Students of NMU (CSNMU)
2014-2015 recipient: Andrew Poe, Northern Lights A Cappella

Michael D. Nunnally Individual Student Volunteer Award.
Purpose: Recognizes an outstanding NMU student volunteer who has made an impact on the community through service.

2015-2016 recipient:  Benjamin Harris
2014-2015 recipient:  Katy Meade