Faculty/Staff Directory Page

Jeffrey Vickers - Woodwinds

Department Head, Associate Professor
102A Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: (906) 227-1807
jevicker@nmu.edu

At NMU since 2014
     B.M., University of Mississippi
     M.M., Indiana University
     D.M., Indiana University

Gentile

Jennie Gentile

Principal Secretary
102 Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: (906) 227-2563
jgentile@nmu.edu

At NMU since 2002
     B.S., Northern Michigan University 
     M.S., Northern Michigan University

 

 

 

Carrie Biolo - Music in Society/World Music

Instructor
114 Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: (906) 227-2504
cbiolo@nmu.edu
     B.M., DePaul University
     M.M., DePaul University

ErinColwitz2a.jpg

Erin Colwitz - Director of Choirs

Assistant Professor
328 Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: (906) 227-2308
ecolwitz@nmu.edu

At NMU since 2015
    B.A., University of Minnesota
    M.M., University of Southern California
    D.M.A., University of Southern California

Robert Engelhart - Voice/Opera Workshop

Professor
118 Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: (906) 227-1039
rengelha@nmu.edu

At NMU since 1986
        B.M., Capital University
        M.A., The Ohio State University
        Ph.D., The Ohio State University

Flaherty

Mark Flaherty - High Brass/Jazz Band

Professor
108 Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: (906) 227-1037
mflahert@nmu.edu

At NMU since 2002
     B.A., Carleton College
     
M.M., Yale School of Music
     
D.M.A., University of Minnesota

Stephen Grugin - Low Brass/Director of Bands

Professor
303 Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: (906) 227-1040
sgrugin@nmu.edu

At NMU since 1997
     B.M., Ohio State University
     B.M.E., Ohio State University
     M.M., Northwestern University, Evanston
     Ph.D., Florida State University

Amorette Head shot 


Amorette Languell - Music Education/Elementary

Assistant Professor
113 Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: (906) 227-2304
alanguel@nmu.edu


At NMU since 2017
     B.S., Central Connecticut State University
     M.S., Western Connecticut State University
     Ph.D., University of Arizona

Ryneer

 

 

 

 

 

Barbara Rhyneer - Strings/Orchestra

Professor
116 Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: (906) 227-2309
brhyneer@nmu.edu

At NMU since 1997
     B.A., Loyola Marymount University
     M.M., Bowling Green State University
     Ph.D., Ball State University

Strain

James Strain - Percussion/Music History

Professor
106 Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: (906) 227-2574
jstrain@nmu.edu

At NMU since 1997 
     B.M.E., Arkansas State University
     M.M., University of Cincinnati
     D.M.A., Eastman School of Music

 

 
Redfern

Nancy Zimmerman - Piano

Professor
120 Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: (906) 227-1043
nredfern@nmu.edu

At NMU since 1987
     B.M., University of Arizona
     M.M., University of Arizona
     D.M.A., University of Arizona

 

Student Employees:

Boardman_Olivia.png Olivia Boardman
Office Assistant

Mackenzie Grace Fries
Office Assistant

Sellnow_Ashley.png Ashley Sellnow
Office Assistant

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sam Rodriguez
Hall Monitor

Cameron Schultz
Hall Monitor
 

Anna Morrison
Choral Librarian

 

 

For more information please contact music@nmu.edu or (906) 227-2563.

faculty_and_staff