Faculty/Staff Directory Page

Directory Page

 

Robert Engelhart - Voice/Opera Workshop

Professor, Department Head
102 Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: 906-227-1039
rengelha@nmu.edu

At NMU since 1986
        B.M., Capital University
        M.A., The Ohio State University
        Ph.D., The Ohio State University

Tony Beacco - Voice/Sight Singing

Instructor
110 Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: 906-227-2504
abeacco@nmu.edu

     B.M., Northern Michigan University
    M.M., Ball State University

 

Carrie Biolo - Music in Society/World Music

Instructor
114 Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: 906-227-2504
cbiolo@nmu.edu

     B.M., DePaul University
     M.M., DePaul University

ErinColwitz2a.jpg

Erin Colwitz - Director of Choirs

Assistant Professor
328 Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: 906-227-2308
ecolwitz@nmu.edu

At NMU since 2015
     B.A., University of Minnesota
    M.M., University of Southern California
    D.M.A., University of Southern California

Flaherty

 

 

 

 

Mark Flaherty - High Brass/Jazz Band

Professor
108 Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: 906-227-1037
mflahert@nmu.edu

At NMU since 2002
     B.A., Carleton College
     
M.M., Yale School of Music
     
D.M.A., University of Minnesota

Stephen Grugin - Low Brass/Director of Bands

Professor
303 Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: 906-227-1040
sgrugin@nmu.edu

At NMU since 1997
     B.M., Ohio State University
     B.M.E., Ohio State University
     M.M., Northwestern University, Evanston
     Ph.D., Florida State University

Redfern

 

 

 

 

 

Nancy Redfern - Piano

Professor
120 Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: 906-227-1043
nredfern@nmu.edu

At NMU since 1987
     B.M., University of Arizona
     M.M., University of Arizona
     D.M.A., University of Arizona

Ryneer
 

 

 

 

 

 

Barbara Rhyneer - Strings/Orchestra

Associate Professor
116 Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: 906-227-2309
brhyneer@nmu.edu

At NMU since 1997
     B.A., Loyola Marymount University
     M.M., Bowling Green State University
     Ph.D., Ball State University

Strain

 

 

 

 

 

James Strain - Percussion/Music History

Professor
106 Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: 906-227-2574
jstrain@nmu.edu

At NMU since 1997 
     B.M.E., Arkansas State University
     M.M., University of Cincinnati
     D.M.A., Eastman School of Music

Jeffrey Vickers - Woodwinds

Associate Professor
114 Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: 906-227-1807
jevicker@nmu.edu

At NMU since 2014
     B.M., University of Mississippi
     M.M., Indiana University
     D.M., Indiana University

 

 
amorette.jpg

Amorette Languell - Music Education/Elementary

Instructor
113 Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: 906-227-2304
alanguel@nmu.edu


At NMU since 2017
     B.S., Central Connecticut State University
     M.S., Western Connecticut State University
     Ph D., University of Arizona (December 2017)

 

 

Gentile

Jennie Gentile

Principal Secretary
102 Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: 906-227-2563
jgentile@nmu.edu

At NMU since 2002

     B.S., Northern Michigan University

IMG_0178.JPG

Daniel Rusty Bowers

Publicity Manager
104 Thomas Fine Arts
Phone: 906-227-1581
dbowers@nmu.edu

At NMU since 2015

      B.S., Northern Michigan University

 

 

 

Boardman_Olivia.png Olivia Boardman
Office Assistant
   
Duncan_Sarah.png Sarah Duncan
Office Assistant
Sellnow_Ashley.png Ashley Sellnow
Office Assistant

 

 

 

 

Sam Rodriguez
Hall Monitor

 

 

 

Kyle Mol
Hall Monitor
 
 

Anna Morrison
Choral Librarian

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For more information please contact music@nmu.edu or (906) 227-2563.

faculty_and_staff